Sunrise

I walked into my office around 7:30 this morning, took two steps in, and came to a stop.  The sky just outside my window was that arresting.

I was the first one in and I had been turning on the lights, but I stopped, backed up, and turned most of them back off.  Then I leaned against my bookcase and stared out my window.  The sky was filled with long, low fingers of clouds that were beginning to burn bright red with the dawn, looking for all the world like fire on an inverted ocean.

I stood there and waited, only slightly distracted by my boss coming in and sliding to the same amazed halt.

Up above the horizon, the more solid wall of clouds began to glow a soft pink as the fingers to the east picked up a brighter orange hue.  The clouds themselves were drifting slowly toward the northeast, spreading like a conflagration until finally the sun itself began to peek through the spreading arms of a tall, distant tree.

I know I’m a bit unusual as a morning person, but this is why.  I may not always get up without a struggle, and I may not do this more than once or twice a year, but I hope I never get tired of taking some time and watching the sun rise.

4 Responses

  1. I don’t sleep much so I’m a morning and an evening person. But I LOVE mornings for the mere fact no one has usually had a chance to piss me off yet.

    And the purdy sunrises. 😀

    Hah! The “nobody’s pissed me off yet” is definitely a bonus. Some days you know are going to suck before you go to bed the night before…but more often, a new morning is a new possibility for a great day. Unless and until something fucks it up.

  2. I am up before sunrise every morning to walk or run. I have to bring a flashlight.

    Venus is visible now just before sunrise in the east. Check it out.

    Lately I’m in the car with Boy by 7:15 or so. Nowadays that’s DARK around here.

    I’ll keep my eyes open for Venus, thanks for the heads-up!

  3. I see sunrises – just usually from the other side.

    Admit it: it’s the BAD side. (Even if occasionally bad is good. Heheheh.)

  4. Have to say, even though I had to get up at quarter of five, driving into work as the sun was rising was pretty cool yesterday. The sky had that gradual rainbow thing it has when you’re flying in the direction of the sunrise on a long-distance flight.

    Same here. I may not always like the reasons I’m up, but at least I can enjoy the beauty of the moment.

Leave a comment