More music! More music!

Y’all know I can’t resist this stuff.

I read this music meme from Matt (alliteration: I has it) this morning and immediately loved it. As I noted in the Shuffle Up blog post last week, I have some issues with these shuffled-music things in general because I don’t have a large-capacity mp3 player that I carry around with me, so I have to modify my answers a little bit. I’m still going to use my “My Soundtrack” disc to answer this because it’s still sitting in my cd drive here at work, but I’ll also make a couple of comments based on my larger music collection.

Now, on with the meme!

If someone new were in your car, what song on your player would you be quickest to skip out of embarrassment?
Out of embarrassment, “I’ll Be” by Edwin McCain. Pure sap, but I love that song and used to sing it to my son to get him to sleep when he was an infant. Other than that, probably “Paul Revere” from the Beastie Boys, because it’s a goofy song that probably holds no attraction to anyone but me. And shut up, my 8th grade rap duo was going to take over the world. (Actually my partner in said duo is still performing semi-professionally in North Carolina.) Or maybe “How Will I Laugh Tomorrow” by Suicidal Tendencies, because it’s so laughable lyrically. Love the music, though.

I’d probably be more likely to skip songs like Pantera’s “Suicide Note Pt. 2” or Slipknot’s “Iowa” because they’re ridiculously loud and aggressive (in the former case) or just plain wickedly twisted (in the latter) for the average human being’s taste. I’m not embarrassed by them, but Joe or Jane Average having a seat in my car probably wouldn’t appreciate them.

In my larger music collection, I’d probably be mostly likely to be embarrassed by BlackHawk (love that debut album) or some of my 80s music.

What song or songs is/are most “atypical” on your player?
On the disc, “Book of Days” by Enya. Enya is probably the answer in my wider music collection as well.

What song(s) on your player turns you on?
Depends on the day, really. Sade is always good, especially “Never As Good As The First Time.” Honestly, in a strange way Tool’s “Sober” turns me on, because I always pictured playing that song live, late in the set, backlit in red in dripping with sweat as everybody in the audience were all sweatily piled together and grooving along. That probably makes no sense to anyone but me, but there it is.

In my music collection as a whole, add in some R. Kelly and D’Angelo to that mix.

If you wanted to get a member of the opposite sex in the mood, what song would you program to come on when they are in the car?
From the soundtrack, see Sade, above or Clapton, “Wonderful Tonight (live)”. In my music collection as a whole, perhaps Sade’s “No Ordinary Love” or “Baby, Baby, Baby” by R. Kelly.

What is the longest song on your player?
Hah! You know I own all of Opeth’s albums, right? On the soundtrack disc, it’s Opeth’s “Deliverance” at 13:35; in my music collection as a whole it’s Opeth’s “Black Rose Immortal” which is 20 minutes plus. Supposedly someone once hollered for them to play that song at a concert once. Bandleader Mikael Akerfeldt answered “We don’t play that song live. But we accidentally played it at soundcheck once.”

What do you think is the silliest song on your player?
On the soundtrack, “Jungle Boogie” by Kool & the Gang. Overall, “Kyle’s Mom’s a Bitch” by Cartman from the soundtrack to “South Park: Bigger, Longer, & Uncut.” Sadly, I don’t have a copy of “Timmy & the Lords of the Underworld.” Yet.

What did you most recently add to your player?
Hmm. Nothing recently, since our external HD is still deadified. We added “Dani California” and “Snow ((Hey Oh))” to our son’s mp3 player, if that counts. The most recent thing I’ve wanted to add is Disturbed’s “Indestructible.”

What did you most recently delete?
Again, no recent deletions. From the soundtrack, I think I’d delete Kenny Rogers’ “Love Will Turn You Around” and Parkening’s “Suite Espanola: Canarios.”

What is your favorite song on your player that is from a movie?
Probably a tie between “Jungle Boogie” and “Dragula” by Rob Zombie, a remix of which was on the soundtrack to “The Matrix.” Speaking of which, “Spybreak!” from the Propellerheads is an awesome movie tune, as is “Soul to Squeeze” by the Chili Peppers.

Is there a song on your player that is only there for someone else’s benefit?
On my soundtrack, no. But I have a whole disc in my car of stuff that’s just for my wife – all of her trance/dance music stuff like Andain, Chicane, Armin Van Buuren, etc. To name (and recommend) a song or two, how about “Satellite” by Oceanlab, “Sahara” by Solid Globe, and (for non-trance tunes) “Camelia” by J-Minus and Dexter Freebish’s “Twilight.”

What song or artist do you find yourself skipping most frequently and therefore should probably delete?
A lot of my R&B tends to get skipped, and definitely Staind. Seems a little too emo to me nowadays.

Okay Matt, you asked for new questions to be added, so here are mine:

What song would you most like for a member of the opposite sex to dedicate to you?
Besides “Big Dumb Sex” by Soundgarden? Just about any Sade for the sex, “When You Say Nothing At All” by Alison Krauss & Union Station for the “awwwww.”

What song would you least like to be playing when pulled over by law enforcement?
“Fuck tha Police” by NWA is the blindingly obvious winner here, so to pick something for a changeup, how about “One Gun” by Lamb of God? Or “Regular People (Conceit)” by Pantera would be a good one.

What song is most likely to be playing when pulled over by law enforcement?
“Dragula” by Rob Zombie or “(Don’t Fear) The Reaper” by Blue Oyster Cult. I can NOT keep my foot off the pedal during those two songs.

What song most makes you want to smash stuff (in a good or a bad way)?
In a good way: “Wild Side” by Motley Crue, “Little Crazy” by Fight, “Redneck” by Lamb of God,” “Indians” by Anthrax. In a bad way: “Suicide Note Pt. 2” by Pantera, “Pride” by Damageplan, and maybe “Act of Contrition” by Shadows Fall.

What song makes you want to throw a drunken arm around a friend’s shoulders and sing?
Anything from “Back in Black.”

What song would you be most mortified to be caught singing aloud?
“The Search is Over” by Survivor. And I can barely resist singing when it’s on. “I was LIVing for A DREEEEEEEEAM…”

Without cheating, start your player and list the first 10 songs that come up in random play.

  1. Red Hot Chili Peppers, “Love Rollercoaster”
  2. Mother Love Bone, “Crown of Thorns”
  3. Jonny Lang, “Second Guessing”
  4. Weezer, “Say It Ain’t So”
  5. Tool, “Sober”
  6. Stevie Ray Vaughan, “Life by the Drop”
  7. Evanescence, “Bring Me to Life”
  8. Eric Johnson, “Good to Me”
  9. Tonic, “Mr. Golden Deal”
  10. Alison Krauss & Union Station, “If I Didn’t Know Any Better”

Let’s hear your answers! Don’t be shy. Add a question or two to your survey!

8 Responses

  1. Fun, fun stuff! I love Edwin McCain and I think “I’ll Be” is a great song, I think it’s because he’s so darn likeable that he just escapes being truly sappy.

    I might have to amend my entry to answer your added questions. They are really good ones!

    True. He’s endearingly dorky when I see him on the VH1 “I Love the 80s” stuff. He looks like somebody I could play a drunken game of Monopoly with. And thanks for the compliments on the questions; have at ’em!

  2. I love “Paul Revere” I laugh every time I hear it.

    Oh, it’s hysterical, but my partner and I took it WAY more seriously in 1986 than any Beastie Boys album ever should have been.

  3. Gotta love Dragula. But, “The Search Is Over”? Damn. I had forgotten about that one, and it needs to stay forgotten! Great answers.

    Hey, I didn’t say I didn’t love the song, I said I’d be embarrassed to be caught singing it!

  4. […] The Taoist Biker added questions to his survey and they were so much fun, I thought I’d edit mine to add them: […]

  5. So. Totally. Stealing. This.

    STOP, THIEF! HALT! HALT! 😀

  6. I must be a sap too, b/c I love that Edwin McCain song. Agreed about ‘Wonderful Tonight’ too.

    I like the ‘law enforcement’ question…I wouldn’t want to be playing ‘Ridin’ Dirty’ in that scenario…or an scenario for that matter.

    I’m still working on my survey…

    It’s sappy, but it’s cool. And I really like the vocal harmony as well. As I said in someone else’s comments, one of the few highlights of my career as a guitarist was absolutely NAILING “Wonderful Tonight” for my now-wife and actually making her cry.

  7. Love it! I have to admit, we were on holiday a few weeks ago and I was sitting in the car with my three year old son, and Soundgarden “Louder than Love” was on the cd player- when it came to Big Dumb Sex I felt kinda awkward and skipped on- not really the kind of thing you want your tiny child listening to really- I now know how my parents felt!!!!!!!

    Yep, we do that too. We just downloaded a few Black Sabbath songs for Rock Band because I was dying to play them, but my wife was really iffy about “Sweet Leaf,” and I understand. We already cringe when our son wants to play “In Bloom” or “Celebrity Skin.”

    Great to hear from you again, Suzy! Hope you’re feeling well; now I’m off to check your blog and see your update!

  8. You post interesting content here. Your website deserves much more traffic.
    It can go viral if you give it initial boost, i know
    very useful tool that can help you, simply type in google:
    svetsern traffic tips

Leave a Reply

