Aquatic observations

Just a few random thoughts and happenings from my swim today…

*  I was a lot happier with my wait times between laps today – MUCH reduced over even last week.  Go me!

*  There’s some sort of swimming clinic being put on for the first half of June, which has meant that all last week the normal 6 lanes of lap swimming have been cut down to 3.  Last week it was an annoyance which meant that I had to share lanes more than usual.  Today, wow, every available lane was being shared and by the time I was done and climbed out, there were at least 6-7 people waiting for a slot to open.  Ugh.

*  They apparently let the clinic kids out for a break right as I finished my shower.  So not only did I have to wait for the suit-dryer thingamabob while a couple of 4th-graders read the instructions at a snail’s pace, but I then had to get dressed in the middle of them.  You know, I’m no exhibitionist, but I don’t have a problem with nudity in a locker room.  Nudity in the midst of a bunch of grade-school boys, on the other hand, makes me feel like I should have a blinking red “PEDO” sign flashing over my head.  Hence I did the slide-the-boxers-under-the-towel-as-best-I-can move.  Deciding, after some debate, to take my chances and do so facing the doorway instead of facing the kids.  Eesh.  Awkward.

*  For the second time in as many visits, I caught the sight of a girl (the same girl) sunbathing by the pool.  Except the pool is INSIDE, and she was lying on a towel OUTSIDE THE BUILDING.  On Friday it was in a 1-piece, today it was in a bikini.  Amongst college dorms, not such a huge surprise I guess, but here?  No dorms in sight, just a bunch of office buildings and that sort of stuff?  Outside the natatorium, with swim-camp and soccer-camp kids going back and forth to the fast-food joint across the street?  (And no, she was NOT hot by any stretch of the imagination.  Or my imagination at least.)

Observation

Only my fellow MotoGP fans will get this, but for all three of you…

Watching Sunday’s race at Catalunya:

My son:  “Who’s that behind Valentino Rossi?  Is that Casey Stoner?”
Me and my wife:  “Yes, son, that’s Stoner.”
My son:  “Oh.  [pause]  Haven’t we seen this before?”

Monday Music

I’m tapping a little more Rock Band inspiration for today’s Monday Music. I don’t remember ever hearing this song before (I’m pretty far out of touch with modern pop music), but I definitely like it. Good beat, good guitar work, great lyrics, great way to start a week.

The Killers, “When You Were Young” (with “Enterlude,” live at Glastonbury)