Monday Music

Well, I finished Christmas shopping on Saturday, amongst the masses of people out on the last Saturday before Christmas (which, according to Snopes, tends to bring in more money than Black Friday – who cares, at least the people aren’t quite as nutty!).  Only to sit up in bed that night just after I laid down and say, “FUCK, I forgot to buy Boy that lava lamp he’s been wanting!”

So then I finished my Christmas shopping about 9am on Sunday morning, in a quiet, largely-empty store.  It worked out pretty well, all things considered.

But being out and about in the hustle and bustle of Christmas shopping put me in mind of this song, and it seemed like a fitting one for the week before Christmas this year.  I hope you all enjoy it.

Guy Forsyth, “Things That Matter”

(There’s something about this guy that reminds me of my dad as a young man – I think it’s the eyes.  Or maybe the totally awesome 70s sideburns.  Either way, it’s a nice image to be reminded of at this time of year.)

May we all have a holiday filled with love, joy, and peace – those things that matter most.

Happy holidays to all of you!

4 Responses

  1. Let me give you a hint:

    Amazon

    It keeps you from having to shuffle through the masses this time of year

    As much as I enjoy your Monday Music, I’m not ready to let the horse song go yet. Other than the weirdness of wearing shopping bags on their head, it was quite a catchy little tune. I catch BP singing or humming it every so often and then it’s re-stuck in my head all over again.

    Happy Holidays to you too, TB!

  2. I’ve heard a little of him on XM Outlaw Country. Great stuff.

    Happy holidays, dickweed. =)

  3. Happy holidays to you (and Boy and Dys) too!

  4. Thanks, ladies, and I hope you all have a great holiday as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

