The Setlist

As I said yesterday on Twitter:  sometimes it’s hard to tell if my throat is sore because I’ve been singing death metal, or because I’ve caught the cold that Boy has been nursing.

In this case, Tiff was right, it was the death metal.  (Though I suppose the jury could still deliver the opposite verdict.)

I usually sing on Rock Band maybe once every six months.  Why?  Because I’m extremely self-conscious about singing, so I usually don’t do it in front of people.  ANY people.  Including my wife and kid.

But I’m trying to work on recording some music again, and the only way I’m going to get better with my voice is to practice with it.  So why not do it using this thing that will visually show me how I’m doing?  All I have to do is nut up and sing in front of my family.

Gulp.

But I saw a mini-documentary on the recording of Are You Experienced? last week and the engineer, Eddie Kramer, isolated Hendrix’s vocal track.  You could still hear a quiet guitar in the background.  Because, according to Kramer, Hendrix was too self-conscious about his voice to record unless he could distract himself by playing guitar along with it.

Yep.  If Hendrix can be self-conscious…I can get over myself a little bit.

So on Monday night, I ran through this setlist.

Killswitch Engage – My Curse
Sixx AM – Life Is Beautiful
Trapt – Who’s Going Home With You Tonight?
Bullet For My Valentine – Waking the Demon
Lamb of God – Laid to Rest

Starting with Trapt I sang on “Hard” difficulty and did pretty damned well.   Of course, there’s not much melodic singing on the last two, but still, it’s fun to see the rating come back “Awesome – 100%”.

Yes, I sang them in that order.  The “how hard is it” rating would look like a bell curve with Trapt in the middle.  But I know better than to sing “Laid to Rest” anything but last.  My voice is DONE after that one.  Particularly the “Fail-UUUUUUUUUUUURRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEEEE!!!” part that Boy loves so much.

I’m not going to be going platinum anytime soon – but I can slowly get better and have fun doing it, eh?

 

5 Responses

  1. Heck, Clapton still doesn’t really think of himself as much of a singer. And you’re just at home! Don’t worry so much.

    Also, I would, like, never ever sing “Laid to Rest”, for any reason, ever. So you’re ahead of the game as far as I’m concerned.

    Well, maybe “singing” isn’t the right word, hmm? 🙂

  2. I used to sing. Classically trained and all that jazz. But, I quit. Maybe I’ll have to do some self-analysis on my blog about it. Hmm…

    Glad that you are figuring out that you CAN get over yourself to sing. The more you practice, the better you’ll get.

    Dys is classically trained as well. Me … not so much.

  3. Dude, I give you props for even trying to do Randy Blythe. That’s hard core right there. Just listening to him makes me hoarse. And horny. But that’s for another day.

    I can do it – but damn, I can NOT bring the same volume or power to it. That’s what bums me out. I can do death/metal vocals but not if you need to hear me across a small room without amplifiers!

    (It IS exhausting but FUN to do that “FAILURE!!!!!!!” part…)

  4. Crisitunity’s right, there are TONS of great musicians that don’t think of themselves as “singers” but sing anyway.

    And anyone who can muddle through Laid to Rest is a singer. Hoarse, tired, and spent; but still a singer.

    I did it again last night in the car, actually. A little better this time, too, or so I convince myself…

    Still hoarse, tired, and spent of course.

  5. As an aside, I’ve found that sometimes singing can help us put ourselves back together again. Just don’t make yourself hoarse. You can develop nodes on your vocal chords and that’s bad. Of course, it would mean no talking for some time. You’d be stuck, alone in your head with your own thoughts, be that good or bad.

Leave a Reply

