Monday Music

Last week I figured would be a week in which I’d blog a lot.  Turns out, meh, not so much.  This week is shaping up to be more of the same, but hopefully an administrator at the U won’t call my opinion of something that falls fully within my area of expertise “ridiculous” this time.

At the end of the week, though, I have a gig with one of my professional associations that I’m looking very much forward to.  So that’ll be cool.

So, in the Monday Music vein, I was listening to a bunch of random music this weekend and I ended up in some Breaking Benjamin.  BB is not one of my favorite bands – not in my top five, maybe not even in my top ten.  But I think I’ve said publicly via Twitter and/or Blip before that…well, with all of my varied influences, they still probably write the music that’s closest to the music I’d write myself if I were able.  They combine the aggression and the screaming with some genuine melody and harmony in a way that I really find very, very appealing.  And if I could claim one of their songs as my own, I’d be damned proud of it.

This song isn’t even one of my favorites of theirs.  But the first time Dys brought home this album and I gave it a spin, it was the song that stayed in my brain the longest.  There’s something about it that’s just persistent and haunting and awesome.  Not in an earwig way; in a damned cool way.  (Or so I hope.)  And so here it is.

Breaking Benjamin, “Evil Angel”

There’s something about that melody that sticks with me.  Hope ya enjoy it!

5 Responses

  1. So much for that hope about the administrator. THAT one lasted what, an hour? FUCK.

  2. great song! ive never heard it before… thinking i should read all your old monday music posts!

    Best pack a lunch. Once a week for 3 years and counting…

  3. Sorry about the administrator. I hope, of course, to see more from you soon. It’s kind of lonely to put up my posts and then not see a comment come into my inbox in 20 minutes. 😀

    I’m sorry! 😀 I’ll be back blathering before you know it. Maybe I’ll even *gasp* email you!

  4. Not my typical style, yet this thing has burrowed into my brain. Good one.

    Like I said, there’s just something about it. I don’t even think it’s all that great a song. Something about the chorus and the harmony there…

  5. I’m a big fan of Breaking Benjamin. Diary of Jane was pretty good. But my most favorite song of theirs is Rain.

    I definitely dig “I Will Not Bow.”

Leave a Reply

