A Walk in the Park

I’ve been a wuss and haven’t gone for a run in probably 5 or 6 weeks.  I’m just about ready to get back into it, and Sunday was such a gorgeous day here that I wanted to go for it then.  Boy and I went for a bike ride to my usual running park early in the morning, and I was thinking we’d end up making a bicycle loop out of it, but after a half hour or so on the playground he decided we should just ride back home instead.

“No problem,” I told him, “I can just come back by myself and run anyway.”  So we went home.  But as I thought about it, I decided I wanted to cover more ground than just my typical run.  So, instead, I put our usual essentials-backpack from our bike rides back onto my back, left my car keys and even my iPod on the kitchen counter, and walked out the door.  I walked to the park, all around the park, and back home – in about three hours I covered somewhere in the neighborhood of eight miles.

It was wonderful.

I took our old, small camera with me and kept it in my hand almost the entire time.  The full photo set is here.   But here are a few highlights.

I was feeling pretty good the whole time.  My hips were a little sore at about the halfway point, and that last mile I thought I might be beginning to get a blister on my left foot (but I was wrong!).  Otherwise, it was a fantastic way to spend an afternoon.

This is my 1,000th post.  That is a milestone that I couldn’t even conceive when I started this thing three years back, and I am (probably overly) really excited about it.  Thanks to all of ya for coming along for the ride!!!

9 Responses

  1. Beautiful pictures, and terrific milestone!

    Thankya and thankya!

  2. What Crisitunity said!

    Well then, what I said in return! 😀

  3. What’s with all this beauty and health crap? That’s not sitting too well with me, mister! Especially on such an auspicious occasion as your 1000th post!

    Well, maybe tonight in addition to the ridiculous lack of sleep I’ve had the past few nights, I’ll get slobbering-ass drunk to celebrate!

    Is the world around me going mad? I swear, next person who tells me they’re eating healthy and hitting the gym is going to get my fist up their ass so I can pull out their entrails and feed ’em to them so they’ll healthily eat themselves up their own ass.

    Oh, fuck the healthy eating. That’s WHY I hit the gym, so I can eat like hell and still not have to shop for underwear in sumo specialty shops.

    On the other hand, there will be more seats at the bar.

    Just check before you sit down to make sure I haven’t passed out and am curled up around the base, brother.

    Oh, the quandary that is my life.

    Happy 1000th, TB!

    Keep enjoying life!

    No matter how it pains me.

    Oh, B&G, if it didn’t pain you it wouldn’t be worth doing!

  4. That’s what I was looking for! Kick a man when he’s curled up under a bar stool!

    KICK, of course. Just quit grinding out your cigarettes on my noggin, for fuck’s sake.

  5. That is absolutely gorgeous. I wonder if any geocaches are planted along the trail yet! I love the solitary tree shot, even better on flicker. So glad that you had a good time!

    Surely there are some caches there by now. It would be a great place for a low-medium level cache, and it’s been open for what, a year? I can’t imagine that it’s still cache-virginal!

  6. Love the pics! Now I want to go trail riding with the ponies!

    Congrats on 1000!

    Thanks all the way around!

  7. It looks like it was a lovely place for a nice walk, and it ALMOST makes me want to get off the couch after the apple pie I just ate 😉

    PS: congrats on 1,000!!! 😀

    GIMME SOME PIE YOU MUST SHARE PIE!!

    Thanks, Romi!

  8. wow I stumbled onto your blog from getting click-happy on other people’s blogs and apparently found you on a very happy/important occasion! happy 1000th post! I’m glad you had a wonderful time on such a memorable day.

    good luck on your next 1000 posts and the next turn in the road!

    Well welcome aboard there, Snarky, thanks, and y’all come back now, y’hear? 😀

  9. Happy Thousandth TB!! Love the photos, they look beautiful!

    Thanks, Ellie! Sometime I’ll post the GP pics, I swear!!

Leave a Reply

