2010 Indy GP: Thursday

Holy crap, folks, I have SO MUCH to tell you about the weekend we all had together, and so much going on this week…particularly today…that it will probably take forever to tell it all.  Most importantly we still have yet to upload any of our photos to Flickr, and I want to be able to post pictures along with all of my blathering.  But we took literally about 2500 photos…1300 on Friday alone…and if we just try to upload them all Flickr will up and fucking explode, and none of you would ever look at them all anyway.

SO, I’m going to try to cull out some of the greatest hits and upload them in the next day or so, and post along with it as best I can.  In the meantime, we didn’t take our camera on Thursday night, so I can do that one without pics!

On Thursday, I had a handful of errands to run, so I tried to knock some of that out in the morning.  And tried to think about something other than motorcycles.  Not entirely successfully.  I ended up playing an hour or so of Rock Band – banging on drums until the batteries in the drum controller died, then switching to the bass – just to burn up some of my excess nervous energy.  I finally gave up on waiting for the lawn to dry and mowed it 3/4 wet, then hopped into my shower.

We left a little later than we’d planned – Dys’s mom visiting usually equals black hole of time scheduling, and this was no different – so we were pretty sure Tiff and Bill would beat us to the hotel, which they did.  But that was okay – they got to settle in (upgraded to a suite, woohoohoo!) and kick back from their long flight plus puddlejumper combination and enjoy the free beer/wine (???  !!!) being set out by the hotel while waiting for us.

We navigated the construction on I-465 and made it to the hotel.  Dys got up to go check in.  I usually wait in the car, but this time I decided to go on in.  Why?  Because there was a good chance Tiff and Bill would be waiting in the breakfast area right by the front desk.  And guess what?  I walk behind Dys up to the desk, take one look over, and there’s Tiff staring right back at my shiny noggin.  So I whacked Dys on the shoulder and ran over to give her that hug I’d been anticipating (and it was awesome) and give Bill a big handshake and whack on the shoulder.   Dys and I went to unload all our crap and then hook back up with them in a few minutes.

The unloading-of-the-crap took a while, because we packed like we were invading Bolivia (mostly due to bringing two coolers, thinking we’d have no fridge between us…but Bill and Tiff being upgraded to a suite meant we had a fridge to share.  D’oh!) and I hadn’t eaten much for lunch at all, so by the time we were done with that I was damn near starving, and the rest of us not far behind.  I handed them their tickets for the weekend, with appropriate squee-ing on both sides, and then we piled into their rental car and went cruising metropolitan Brownsburg for eats.

We did the “let’s go this way…no, guess not…how about try this direction…no…” for a few before we passed by a little place that looked interesting.  It had outdoor seating, which on a ridiculously gorgeous day like Thursday seemed like an excellent idea.  So we parked over by the courthouse and pulled up a chair outside at the Cabana Room.  We all ordered drinks, with the waitress (owner’s daughter, I think?) helping Dys pick from their page-long martini list while Tiff ordered a beer, I ordered a Booker’s on the rocks, and Bill ordered one of each.  A few minutes later the effects of barrel-proof bourbon on an extremely empty and keyed-up stomach began to set in, and I relaxed into a pool of permagrin.

Tiff meanwhile whipped out the camera and started taking pictures of our appetizers and drinks.  The camera brought a question from the waitress, and when Bill nonchalantly mentioned that she wrote for a travel web site (and a few others) KA-BOOM the owner was at our tableside, telling us about all the cool happenings at the bar, what they did, who they were, and by the way was there anything we needed?  He’d be happy to get it for us!

The food was excellent – I had a fish & chips with homemade tartar sauce, but everybody said theirs was stellar as well – and we had a blast of a time with just getting-to-know-you jibbajabba.  Well, after enduring a jab from Tiff about “You’re much quieter than I thought you’d be!” to which I said, “That’s what Crisitunity said!  WTF up with that?!” to which everybody laughed.  We hung out until after dark and the evening started to cool.  Luckily for me, I now had a belly full and a little antifreeze in my system, so it was all good.  We discussed in general detail the early morning festivities and went back to the hotel, agreeing to meet for breakfast at 7:30 in the morning.

I can’t speak for anyone else, but as Dys performed surgery on her race t-shirts to girly them up, I sat there subtly vibrating with energy, still – and when we finally parted for the night, though I was thoroughly whipped, I still had a little trouble getting to sleep.  I was definitely looking forward to the morning.

3 Responses

  1. TOLD you.

    Hey, compared to BF, I was the MicroMachines Man. (Which just makes it worse that he was still able to be funnier than me.)

  2. Ha, laughed at Crisitunity’s told ya so.

    Aww, reading all this brought it right back for me, and I’m sitting here in my cubicle grinning like a DAMN fool. How long is it until next year’s race, again?

    I’ll work on some of the pictures tonight!

    xoxo

    I’m gonna attempt to work on pics tonight, too, if Dys doesn’t need the laptop for work. And if I don’t fall asleep at 9pm like I did last night (and I was lucky to make it that long).

Leave a Reply

