Tearjerker

For those who didn’t watch Deadliest Catch last night – holy crap, what an emotional hour of TV.

(Kim, you are NOT ALLOWED to watch this at work.)

One more super-sized reason to love Freddy Maugatai.

I think Phil surely appreciated Josh’s dilemma – go and be with his ailing dad in the hospital, or stay with his dad’s boat, step up and take care of his business? – but I think Josh made the right choice in the end.

Surely thanks in no small part to Freddy’s heartfelt advice.  He said exactly what he needed to say.

It made my crusty old ass wish I could hug all of the fish-reeking bastards.

2 Responses

  1. It’s just going to get harder and harder to watch. I teased Kim and said “Thanks a LOT for getting me into the show!” I cannot believe how much I’ve cried since Captain Phil died. It’s really not like me at all, but I just totally liked the guy from the very first episode I watched. He was my very favorite and I’m not real sure the show is going to be the same for me after he’s gone. 😦

    I haven’t watched “After the Catch” this year, though I’ve DVR’ed it. I think Dys said it right last night, when she said that the other guys are used to Phil being dead, and we’re not.

  2. I knew this was coming and just watched it…I can say that I really didn’t want to. I think everyone identified with Phil..even more than the rest. I think it was because you could see him interact with his boys and the other captains…and everyone respected him and never gave him any crap.

    Agreed all around.

    Damn.

Leave a Reply

