Monday Music

I was going to tell a little tale of my weekend, but I figured it would be properly related over on No Butts, so I posted there first and now I’m linking to it here.   Laugh at my misfortune and/or my hubris, why don’t you?

On Sunday I went through a bunch of my clothes and more or less filled up a 15x18x28″ or so box with stuff to give away.  And I probably should have given away more than that, but I hung on to a couple of things for sentimental reasons.  And maybe I’ll get over that in another year or so.  I’d been thinking of doing it for a while, but Dys got the ball rolling by doing the semi-annual cleanout of Boy’s closet of the things he’s outgrown.

Some of it was ripped jeans and so forth that perhaps nobody will take, but a lot of it was shirts that are in perfectly good shape, I just basically never wear them.  I don’t often buy clothes, but I get them often as gifts and then there’s the occasional race or concert shirt and that sort of thing, so I do gradually accumulate them.  I’m not so much wearing things out anymore (well, not my outerwear at least) as I am just getting new things that I like better.  It’s dumb to let this stuff clutter up my closet, right?  So one of our local charities will be getting a big pile of clothes from us in the not-too-distant future, I hope.

Well, enough random rambling from me; time for the MM.  This song has turned out to be probably my favorite song of the year thus far.  I was lucky enough to see them play it live back in January; now it’s available for Rock Band and I’ve been playing it probably every other day or so.  One day when I’m riding a motorcycle again, I will shoot video footage of a ride and set it to this music.  It will be perfect.

Scale the Summit, “The Great Plains”

2 Responses

  1. I did a cleanout this weekend too, of kitchen things and clothes and other stuff. We took three boxes and a bag to the S. A. and got hysterically lost along the way.

    I often find that there are clothes I buy later and like better than the ones I already had, but I have a hard time getting rid of the old ones. I still wear them, sometimes, even if it’s not as often as the newer ones, and I don’t like getting rid of stuff unless it’s really not getting used (and still has use left in it).

    Some of the t-shirts in particular were things that I still wore – but for no terribly good reason, really, other than “I haven’t worn it in a while and it’s still good, I guess I’ll wear it today.” I figure if I got rid of those, I’d wear some of the others more, you know?

  2. Bill often listens to music with an ear toward iPod-ing it while he rides. This is a good one!

    Damn skippy!

    I never used music while I rode. I used earplugs because my helmet was LOUD, but never tried the earbuds or anything. I may change that in future – maybe not. Sometimes just having nothing else to distract you while you’re getting into that riding-meditative headspace is awesome.

Leave a Reply

