Monday Music

It’s hot.  Damn hot.

I had to go in and work in a non-air-conditioned space for a while today.  So I chose to come in at 7am and do it.  At 7, it was hotter inside than outside – and the outdoor heat index was 87.

Yeah.  So I finished that at little after 8 and went home to take a second shower before going back to my office.  I imagine that my coworkers appreciated it.

So, yesterday was Father’s Day.  Boy called me from out of town, while playing Oblivion of course.  He told me “happy Father’s Day” and I thanked him.  “You know, I’m happy to be your dad, son,” I said.  He replied, “Yeah.  I know.”

Heh.  That’s m’boy.

With my dudely week alone about half over, I have to say that I’ve accomplished very little that I intended to do.  Being gone for half my day on Saturday definitely didn’t help; neither does the damned grass that needs to be mowed twice a week lately.  I mowed yesterday around noon and I swear this morning there were spots that had grown an inch over night, and I’m not even exaggerating.

But I’ve maintained on everything that really had to be done, I’ve watched lots of TV that would be uninteresting to Dys or Boy, I haven’t eaten too much junk food, and the dog isn’t too depressed, so I suppose I’m doing a pretty good job.

I won’t lie; in and amongst enjoying the quiet, the lack of competition for the computer and the TV, etc., there have been moments of loneliness and sadness.  But by and large, I’m enjoying myself.  And I’m definitely getting in some good quality time with GarageBand, so that’s a plus.

So, happy Monday to you all; stay cool!

Audioslave, “Doesn’t Remind Me”

One Response

  1. Wind, rain, tornado warnings … but I’m still glad to not be in that heat and humidity. (They think it’s terribly humid here, cracking me up.)

    We miss you too.

    We had some rain on Saturday which really didn’t help things too much. I’m not sure if I want any more or not – it’s so humid that the grass is still wet at 1pm even with temperatures over 90. Yee-ugh.

Leave a Reply

