Solid

I had the opportunity to listen to some new music this morning, and I was actually quite impressed. It’s not even Teh Metalz.

It just so happens that one of my longtime motorcycle chums from Texas has, over the past year, formed a band, pulled together a following, gotten some local press (and a nomination for “best new artist” in the local paper – voting is underway!) and recorded a demo EP.

Honestly?  I like it.  It’s kind of like late-80s rock/pop:  synths and guitars textured together.  The Cure comes to mind.  It’s quite solid and just plain ol’ good music.  I’m sufficiently convinced that at least a few of you will, also, that I’m putting the link here so you can check it out and decide for yourself.  Dys, Tiffany and Crisi-tunity, I’m particularly looking in your direction.

The debut EP from Phantom CasteHands to the Light

They’re having a record release party in Fort Worth next Saturday; afterward the songs will be available for download from the Bandcamp site.  Until then, you can listen for free to your heart’s content.

If you like it, leave a comment here and I’ll make sure my friend hears them…or friend ’em on Facebook or something.  Tell ’em TB sent you.

Enjoy!

One Response

  1. Not bad! Puts me in mind of Duran Duran meets The Killers.

    That’s a pretty good comparison, I’d say.

Leave a Reply

