Lone Ranger

Apparently what I do when I have the house to myself is catch up on my TV/movies and run the shredder.  I filled a garbage bag and a half with our little office shredder, going through crap that we’d been chucking aside for the past year (along with some of the remnants of a little cleaning and filing I did a few weeks back) while sitting there watching Criminal Minds on the DVR and Slap Shot on Netflix.  (Those pucks are a hell of a lot cooler now, B&G!)

I am cooler than James Bond.

Heh.  Seriously, I hope to do some recording and some more cleaning and other random stuff, but so far it’s been snoozeville.  I’ve been up damned early two of the three days for my 6am runs, skipping yesterday to recover from all the lost sleep on Wednesday.  Wednesday night was full of errands, done then to free up the rest of my evenings to chillax.  So now I’m kicking back and interspersing the occasional dog-wrestling bout with lots of…nothing.

It’s both sublimely awesome and makes me feel like I should be doing a gazillion other things with my time.  Heh.

Two days down, six to go.  We’ll see how I’m dealing come Tuesday, huh?

« »

2 Responses

  1. Jim Carr: What is high-sticking?
    Denis Lemieux: High-sticking happen when the guy take the stick, you know, and he go like that. You know, you don’t do that.
    Carr: You don’t do that?
    Lemieux: Oh no, never, never.
    Carr: Why not?
    Lemieux: Against the rules. You know, you’re stupid when you do that. Just some English pig with no brains, you know.

    Where the hell can a movie go when it starts like that?

    Let me get this straight, TB, you’d never seen Slap Shot before? Yet you have pucks and autographs from cast members? You have some odd friends there, pal!

    Okay now, let me ask you, being a first timer (I don’t hold that against you. Hell, my girlfriends never seen it) and having given it the attention it was do (all the while not being unduly influenced by me), what’d you think?

    Let’s see, what should you see on your alone time? The Aristocrats. Fuck: The Documentary. The Bridge (but not if you’re feeling low). Man On A Wire.

    But definitely stay away from anything with the words Slap and Shot in it that don’t have Maurice in the cast. But if you were in the mood for a hockey movie, The Rhino Brothers, is pretty damn cool.

    I’m sure you’ll find more than enough to keep you occupied over the next six days.

    Nope, I’d never seen it before. Too damned bad!

    I enjoyed it, and I felt kinda bad that I was running the shredder while I watched so there were a few parts I didn’t hear all that well. But I was laughing my ass off at a few points.

    I like when the light bulb goes off in Dunlop’s head. You can just see that idea start to form, and then he starts smack-talking the goalie about his wife, and realizes, “Hey! This is fun!”

    Of course, the story about the guy who intentionally drew penalties so he could be alone in the penalty box…yep. I think that was my favorite.

  2. Reg, Reg, that reminds me. I was coachin’ in Omaha in 1948 and Eddie Shore sends me this guy who was a terrible masturbator, you know, couldn’t control himself. Why, he would get deliberate penalties so he could get over in the penalty box all by himself and damned if he wouldn’t… you know…

    Strother Martin was great in Slap Shot.

    A fried of mine, truly the #1 Slap Shot fan of all time, was going on a long drive so I sent him two CDs to listen to. He started laughing the moment he tossed it in (as I knew he would). It was the dialog from the movie.

    Glad you enjoyed it. You know, it gets better with repeated viewings!

    Bullshit. I must test this theory to prove you wrong. 😉

Leave a Reply

