Solo

I got up at 3:45 this morning to get Dys and Boy up, help them with their last packing bits, and get them to the airport before 5am.  They’re off to visit Dys’s folks – usually Boy makes this trip on his own, but the last few times he’s done so he’s been so homesick that it’s been a distraction for both him and his grandparents.  So Dys decided to go with him, see her folks and grandparents, etc., while giving Boy some anchoring and her parents some help with entertaining him.  Plus she gets to see her most brotherly of cousins as he passes through from Arizona.

Aside from that, she’ll be working like a dog, as usual.  So my lack of vacation time until the new fiscal year starts on July 1 that’s keeping me here in town won’t be that big of a bummer.  I might have missed some fishing time, but even that might have been by myself, just in another state.

But now, I’ll have the house to myself.  For almost 8 days.

I tried to think of the last time I had the house completely to myself for 24 hours – and the last time I can remember is over the summer when Dys was pregnant with Boy and she and her mom went to Chicago for a seminar.  So that was roughly 11 years ago.

Heh.

Of course, now we have the dog at home, so I’m running home every day at lunch to let her out.  And I can’t go on an Epic Road Trip! like I’d like given this time to myself.  (Bummer.)  I had the bad luck to have one of my professional associations call a meeting on Saturday morning, so one of the two full days I had to myself just evaporated to one-and-a-half.  I’m even too broke to go to the local strip club and invite all the dancers back to my place.  So instead it’s looking like a weekend of Xbox poker, movies/TV shows that I can’t watch while Boy is awake, and maybe some quality time with my GarageBand mistress.

If anybody’s in my neck of the woods this next week, drop me a line.  Bring your own booze and hookers, though.  These are MINE.

One Response

  1. I always cherish my alone time, but I start getting sick of it right before Bill is supposed to be home. Convenient timing, that. You guys need to come out here and visit this most beloved of cousins!!!!! 😀

    Have a lovely week, and I’m crossing my fingers for ya tha the Saturday meeting gets cancelled!

    No such luck on the Saturday meeting. It’s getting people together from several corners of the state, so barring total disaster, it’s going on as planned.

Leave a Reply

