Adding to Boy’s Fan Club

His fan club is already bigger than mine.  But he IS funnier.

After dropping Dys off at the airport this morning and eating breakfast, I offered another one of our 10-mile bike loops.  He took me up on it.

Among other things, we talked about careers and college and so forth.  We were rattling off several things he might do when he gets older.  Most of these he’s brushing off quickly.

Finally, I come to “You could work in a store.”

He says:  “Nah.  I don’t think I’d make a good employee.”

“Why do you think that?”

“I don’t really like working, basically.”

9 Responses

  1. Does anyone?

    Supposedly some do.

    Sick bastards.

  2. From his lips to God’s ears.

  3. I actually like working, I just want to do what I wanna do when I want to do it. 😀

    Same here. Somebody pay me to ride motorcycles! And only on sunny days between 50 and 90 degrees!

  4. That working thing really sux, I agree with him!! It’s just better to do the work somewhere you like, instead of somewhere you want to do yourself in.

    Rossi is gone from Mugello! And god knows how many other races. Am so upset!!

    Me too, I was so depressed I had to have a drink!

  5. I’m envious of his extreme and unapologetic self-awareness.

    Most of the time, me too. Believe me.

  6. “I don’t really like working, basically.”….omg that boy is the mouthpiece to my soul!! 😉

  7. Such insight for a kid his age! If only I knew that before I got a job things would be MUCH different.

    Yep. I always thought (think?) that “it’s just this place, I’ll like it someplace else!”

  8. Before his first job he understands work is such a horrible place they have to pay you to be there? That’s some advanced thinking going on there.

    He is wise beyond his years.

  9. Took my 6 year-old niece on a tour of the White House last week. She actually thought we were going to meet President Obama and was deeply disappointed when we didn’t. With a pouty lip in place she said the furniture was ugly after learning the self-guided tour did not include a visit to the private residence.

    I went to DC twice as a kid and didn’t tour the White House. Even as a 4th-grader I hoped to catch a glimpse of President Reagan when we went through the Capitol. Just a bunch of boring old Congressmen.

Leave a Reply

