Thunderous Brotherhood

I had a meeting out of town this morning – not atypical.  What I didn’t know is how it would intersect with the date.

Next door to the building where my meeting was held was a Vietnam war memorial.

Which was the focal point of several hundred members of Rolling Thunder as they headed toward Washington, DC this weekend, to join a few hundred thousand of their brothers at The Wall.

Photo by US Department of Defense

As I left town, they were still pouring in from all directions.  Bands of five, fifteen, thirty.  On the road, parked at gas stations, at restaurants.  On the interstate on the way home, I came across a group that had to be more than 75 strong, riding in a picture-perfect staggered line that stretched back until the highway went over a hill and out of sight.   Many of them had flags unfurled – some of which were in special-built reinforced holders to permit gigantic flags to wave from the back of a cruising motorcycle.  All converging for one purpose.

Vietnam veterans’ causes have a special place in my heart – as do bikers’ causes, of course.  Seeing all of those brothers (and not a few sisters) lined up to pay respects to the fallen, the lost, the unforgotten, got me all choked up.

I wanted to wave, to salute, to holler out my window, to somehow pay tribute to their tribute – but rolling by at highway speeds, it would have passed without notice.

So I salute them here instead.

Photo by US Department of Defense

6 Responses

  1. Holy SHIT. On the top picture. That’s all I have.

    It’s pretty insane, isn’t it?

  2. Just… awesome.

  3. That has to be one of the most beautiful and amazing things I’ve ever seen.

  4. Glad you posted it, that is a fine salute 🙂

  5. It’s like a swarm. Probably sounded like one too.

Leave a Reply

