Overheard

Boy has been full of one-liners lately.  Dys has been posting them over on her blog, including one that he told me on Thursday.  Dys repeated it as it was told to her when I pulled the “Tell Mom what you told me about the gym” bit.

Here’s how it was told to me.

TB:  I’m going to go to the gym this evening.

Boy:  [if you’ve been reading the “Overheards” you’ll know that he’s starting to worry about his appeal to the ladies.  At age 10, no less.  Eesh.]  I should go to the gym to exercise.   Maybe I should go with you.

TB:  Sorry, bud.  The gym has a big sign on the door that says “No one under the age of 15 is allowed.”

Boy:  Why is that?

TB:  Well, son, the gym is for the use of the students of the university and people that work there, and all of those people are over 15.

Boy:  Hmm.  When I turn 15, maybe I can get a job at the university.  And if you’re not dead, we can exercise there together!

6 Responses

  1. “And if you’re not dead…” ROFL! Really sounds like something Dude would say.

    So you’re familiar with the eye-rolling that I did that day, huh?

    • I usually settle for “oh, uh-huh”. Or I have to remind him that something he said was inappropriate or hurtful.

      I think we made it clear that we weren’t hurt, but that maybe he should think twice before discussing someone’s death to their face!

  2. If your not DEAD?! That’s some funny shit!

    I thought so, heheh.

  3. ouch!

    Dys really got on him for it. “That’s FIVE YEARS from now! Your dad better not be dead in five years!!”

  4. That? Just made my week.

    Then you’ll love the next one…

  5. Please! In five years he won’t want to work out with you. He’ll feel your cramping his style.

    Ain’t THAT the truth!

Leave a Reply

