Monday Music

I’m back in the studio!  Woo!

That’s the good news.  The bad news is that, predictably after months of layoff, I’m rusty like a junked Edsel.

But I did spend an hour or two this weekend getting back into GarageBand.  I fooled around working on a good basic customizable beat for any techno projects I might want to work on in the future, and came up with something I think I can work with.  (I actually managed to tweak it so it sounds much better than the original.  I’m feeling pretty stoked about developing some mixing-board skillz.)

Mostly, though, I listened to my most recent project and decided that the bass sucked now that I’ve reworked the drums, so I re-cut bass lines to match the new drum pattern.  Results, not 100%, but much better.

Anyway, that brings me to today’s MM – since I’m busily pimping Jonny Lang over on Maria’s “music education” post and thinking about bass lines at the same time, why not post up one of my favorite bass songs ever?  I love the fluidity of the bass line in this song.  This is groove, people.

Jonny Lang, “If We Try”

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

