Drop Some Pots!

Y’all watch me get Kim all worked up.

*clears throat*

The vast Bering Sea.  Over a million square miles of the world’s most violent and unpredictable waters.

That’s right, crabheads, it’s Deadliest Catch time again!

Assuming we have time in and amongst our final throes of packing, Dys and I will be rivited to Discovery as we see what our boys were up to during king crab season this past winter.  As they’ve run out more teaser trailers in the last few days, the suspense has been killing me.

Edgar:  “Of course I wanna be the guy to continue the legacy, but it just ain’t worth it.”

Johnathan:  “We’re done.  Don’t even call my boat unless you’re sinking.”

And of course the one that’s been running over and over and over, and making Dys tear up every time they show the close-up on Phil’s blue eyes (as she says, so much like her father’s).

Deadliest Catch promo (Music:  “Rise” by Eddie Vedder)

I submit to you that whoever put that music to that commercial is a goddamned genius.

So, who’s ready to grab your oilskins and head out to Dutch?

7 Responses

  1. 😀 I was busy watching a bunch of other stuff last night (a great night for TV, launched by a Maine-esque No Reservations that made me laugh until I pee’d a little), but I hope to catch this on repeat!

    It’s on tonight, dear, not last night. (Last night was BBT night, of course.) Still plenty of chance to get this one on first run!

  2. While I don’t watch the show, I do have a good friend that used to work on the crab boats out of Valdez, AK. He now captains a boat down in the Gulf of Mexico and much, much prefers that.

    I’m sure he would. Captaining in the Gulf sounds like a fantasy. Working a 42-hour string during opie season in the Bering Sea? More like a nightmare.

    I might have been talked into something as macho and stupid as working the crab boats when I was 20. MAYBE. But now I’m much too old, fat, and comfortable in my laziness to go in for something like that.

  3. I become a blubbering idiot every time they show Captain Phil. He was my very favorite on the show. This season is going to be so strange. Watching him and knowing that he’s gone. Ugh. 😦

    Agreed on all counts.

    Also, sadly for you, it appears that Crosby is no longer a deckhand on any of the featured boats.

  4. I am psyched for the new season. But get misty knowing that they’ll probably show Captain Phil’s last ride.

  5. You got me hooked on this last year…or the year before…it all blends together. We are all ready for tonight. I wish I could just Tivo it and watch it commercial free…but I don’t have that kind of patience.

  6. After having watched, and waiting a week before being able to comment – Man. That episode got me pissed off twice.

Leave a Reply

