Monday Music

First off, how ’bout that MotoGP race?!? Hell yeah!  What a way to start the season.  I shouldn’t have had a rare Coke before the race, because I did NOT need a caffeine buzz in addition to the race keeping me on the edge of the couch.

Anyway!

As y’all know, we’re outbound early early (early) on Wednesday morning to California to our friend Michael’s wedding.  So as we run ourselves ragged trying to nail down all the final details of a weeklong cross-country trip for three, this is all that’s on my mind.

Led Zeppelin, “Going to California”

2 Responses

  1. Led Zep AND MotoGP- I’ve died and gone to heaven.

    How freakin good how that race??!! Poor old Nicky, he was sooo close to the podium but Dovizioso (sp?) just pipped him- oh well, next time!! And how funny was Stoner!!! I dislike Stoner more and more each season, and I would be shot if I said that here, but it’s true. I miss Mick Doohan so much. And Gary McCoy too, for that matter- is he lurking around over there in the States on Superbikes or something??

    Have fun in California with the fam!! Safe driving.

    I shrugged and said that Dovi got revenge for Nicky juuuuust holding him off of the podium in Indianapolis last year. But wow. For a while there I thought Dovi was coming through on Rossi and there was nothing Vale could do about it… and where the hell did Lorenzo come from?!?

    Supposedly McCoy is signed for a new manufacturer, FBCorse, that is trying to get on the grid. They may be ready to go full-time by the time of the Jerez race. I’ll be glad to see him back on the track again, myself. Those few seconds of him sliding and wheelieing the old Red Bull Yamaha 500 are still IMHO among the most badass clips in racing.

  2. I was hoping you guys would be on-line so we could Tweet and/or IM during the race, but I was thwarted. The last lap had me yelling at the TV, I wanted Nicky to land on the podium but it wasn’t meant to be. The commentators crack my shit up, they get so excited.

    Crapola, I should have remembered to get online during the race! We were having intermittent cable problems during the Superbike races so I was just so glad to be able to watch I wasn’t thinking about much else.

    Yep, Nick got jobbed, but there just wasn’t much he could do. Dovi had just about everybody beat on the straight, he was just getting a massive drive off the last corner. Nick needed to make his move earlier, but there was just no move to make.

    MY surprise was Lorenzo – for the longest time it looked like the podium was all sewn up and 99 was way the hell back, then BOOM he was there and BOOM he was through and gone! And of course nobody would have expected Stoner NOT to just run away with it at the front.

    It’s looking like a much more interesting season already!

Leave a Reply

