Monday Music

Well, let’s see.  Since last we spoke,

  • Successfully saw Boy off with his grandma for the week.  Damn near froze my legs off in a rest area in western Illinois because in our rush to leave on Friday, I forgot to throw jeans in my bag.  It was 80 or so when we left on Friday afternoon, it was 37 and blowing a cold wind when I woke up in Illinois Saturday morning.  Ack.
  • Drove about 835 miles in a hair over 25 hours.  Not quite Iron Butt material, but then again, most guys don’t Iron Butt with a wife, a 10 year old, and a dog.
  • Got up early on Easter Sunday and rode my bicycle to my office to see how long it would take.  The answer is about 30-35 minutes, and hoo boy I’m in even worse bike-riding shape than I thought.  OW my butt.  But it is in fact do-able.
  • Played quite a bit of RB and Assassin’s Creed (checking it to see if it’s Boy-appropriate).
  • Helped Dys rearrange our bedroom, including switching the direction that our bed is facing – a long-awaited project for her.
  • Played guitar for the first time since my accident.  Yippee!  It was such a gorgeous day yesterday that I couldn’t resist breaking out the acoustic on my back porch.  Verdict:  My hands and wrist are definitely out of shape, but not as far out of shape as I’d feared.  The thumb is a bit weak but it held up.  I can definitely work back up to it.  Awesome.  (And I had fun playing, too.)

Today’s looking like a busier day than I’d thought, but that should be a very good thing when it’s all said and done.  It’s looking like a good day.  So I’ll digress to Very Good Day music.  Enjoy!

Travis Tritt, “It’s a Great Day To Be Alive”

9 Responses

  1. LOVE it. Always been a Travis Tritt fan — I have a great version of “The Whiskey Ain’t Workin'” featuring Marty Stuart. 🙂

    I don’t listen to country music much at all, but I’ve liked this song since the first time I heard it many moons ago. (My boss at my work study job in college was a Tritt fan.) I could halfassed play it once upon a time, and hopefully again sometime in the future.

    • Growing up I was forced to listen to that 80s country music on road trips with my parents so now it holds a warm place in my heart…and I bonded with my grandpa over REAL classic country. Not a fan of the new stuff though. 🙂

      My parents went to see Alabama live several times in the 80s but generally speaking they didn’t listen to a lot of country. My grandparents, on the other hand…absolutely. There’s a good reason I know old Johnny Cash and George Jones lyrics.

  2. I don’t think Assassin’s Creed is remotely Boy-appropriate, if my opinion counts for anything. I’m not a parent and don’t know how much violence 10-year-olds are supposed to be able to consume before turning into psychopaths. It’s a very cool game, but I think it’s cool for teens and up.

    That’s why I want to play it a bit more. So far I’m still mostly in the “running around and doing shit” tutorial phase, I haven’t really stuck too many people. I want to see what happens farther along before we really decide.

    But you have to remember that Boy has on occasion gone full psycho on Oblivion. “Why’d you kill that guy?” “I don’t like the way his clothes look.” Literally. Heh. He’s killed more people in Cyrodiil than the plague. But Oblivion’s not terribly gory, and with some exceptions there isn’t a lot of attempt to get psychologically into the violence. (Although admittedly the Dark Brotherhood questline is a bit in that direction, and he’s long since completed that.)

    Many of his friends also play AC and other teen games, so I want to balance between what’s appropriate and making my kid that one way-too-sheltered kid among his peers. I think we’re at a good point in the balance right now – and AC can probably wait a while.

    • I think those friends have bad parents. I admit I haven’t seen the actual Assassin’s Creed 1 played in quite a long time, but Assassin’s Creed 2 was pretty much the exact same game, and the killing was bloody and, more to the point, repetitive. If not for respawn points you would have killed the entire population of Italy by the time you’re finished with the game, and killing over and over and over and OVER like that is sort of worrying to me to let children do. There’s also something a lot scarier about sneaking up behind someone and sticking a blade in their throat (over and over and over) than about slicing away at someone with your sword until they rag-doll. Just my $0.02.

      You’re right about Oblivion, although for me the Dark Brotherhood was so over-the-top that I was giggling at the greetings they gave each other. It reminded me of the Icy Black Hand of Death Club from Calvin & Hobbes. The game is designed a bit differently than AC, though, and that’s part of where my hesitation lies.

      I’ll ask BF to come and weigh in on this one. He spent a HELL of a lot more time with AC.

      I agree with you on the point of the knife-in-the-back versus Oblivion’s more standard hack-n-slash. And after I played it a bit more last night, honestly one of the things I found surprisingly uncool for someone Boy’s age is the “interrogation” missions. You know, AKA “HEY! This guy has information. Beat the fuck out of him until he gives it up.” I know it sounds stupid to balk at that and NOT his wiping out of a small town in Oblivion, but the one is a little more subtle and a little more possible in real life, I guess.

      • There’s really only two types of violence in AC. Combat and Assassinations. If you’ve played through the first bit of the game, you’ll have seen the combat pretty well. The counter-attack system(press X when the other guy is attacking) makes it easy for the game to show you great camera angles of you eviscerating your opponents one after the other. The actual assassinations are in some ways similar to the Dark Brotherhood ones, but the visuals of combat in Oblivion made any fight less…casual than it is in AC. The point of being the assassin is to just kinda wander through the crowd, walk up behind your target, stab him in the back, and keep walking…the people around you oblivious to the murder you just perpetrated. You also can (and if you’re like me you will) casually kill the annoying crowd members who get in your way, preventing you from getting to your target. Or you can kill a bystander or city guard just so that other guards will come over to investigate. That casualness, strikes me as more…mature…than the hack/slash/fireball of Oblivion, but maybe not. Once you do the first assassination, the rest of the game is basically doing that again 9 times…so if you don’t think it’s too bad based on his and your prior experience, then the game isn’t really going to get worse as you keep playing. As a side note, free-running all over the cities is totally cool and kind of worth playing the game for by itself.

        I think you hit the nail on the head that Oblivion’s combat is more stylized and less “casual” and thereby less “mature.” I think he’s going to have to wait a few more years for this one.

        I haven’t actually done an assassination yet because I AM too busy walking around Damascus and doing the odd save-citizen, rooftop hopping, etc. (I did whack a couple of Templars on the way there, though!)

  3. Ahhh… happiness. Thanks for this, TB. Monday Music perfection.

    De nada!

  4. LOL! I did not expect country here from you. At all. Ever. Period. For this, you are my hero for today, unless BP brings another sick/injured critter into the house today or saves my chickens from coyote and dog death, both of which I’m predicting won’t happen.

    I’m not a big country fan in general, but it’s in the bloodline. Among my family traditions is an annual bluegrass jam every Christmas after breakfast.

    As for Boy, if he’s like Dude, it’s probably best to hold back on the violent video games a bit, even if it means he’s not as cool as his friends. In our experience, Dude just doesn’t get the difference between what is appropriate and what is not. And that causes more problems than it’s worth with school. Ugh! But, that’s our situation and my two cents worth.

    Boy knows the difference between what’s appropriate to DO and what’s not, but damn, he’s so Aspie-focused on Oblivion that sometimes it’ll drive you batty. I’d hate to think what would happen if he just started spouting off about assassinating another one of those damned Catholic Crusaders to one of his teachers.

    • Yes, that can be Dude in a nutshell! Except he’s focused on Star Wars and Diary of a Wimpy Kid. It used to be anything with an engine, then NASCAR. Wonder what will be next?

      Boy is heavily into the Wimpy Kid books as well. I think they’re pretty good, all things considered.

  5. Yaaaayyyyyyy! Travis Tritt was the first performer I ever saw in concert. I was a huge country-music fan in high school. I listen to a lot more varied music now, but I’m still a country girl at heart (going to see Alan Jackson in concert later this month.)

    My work-study boss in undergrad was a big country fan, and Tritt and Jackson were her favorites. So I got to hear a lot of country back then. It wasn’t all bad. 😉

    I still have vivid memories of John Hiatt’s “Perfectly Good Guitar” from that time period. Kind of a one-hit-wonder but I really liked that song.

Leave a Reply

