Radio Show Tonight

No, this is NOT an April Fool’s joke!  (I mean, the show may be a joke, but that wouldn’t be on purpose.)

The big button above (or this link) will take you to my radio show profile page.  The show will go live at 10pm Eastern time tonight.  Click on the big-ass button above or click the link to stop by and listen in! At 10pm, a “Click to Listen” button will appear on my profile page there and you can click that to stream the show live.  Or, for the adventurous, you can call in and talk to me on the air. The call-in number is:

(646) 915-8720

That being a New York phone number (and definitively not mine), long distance charges may apply. However, there should be a “click to talk” button, which should in theory allow anyone with a microphone connected to their computer to click the button and talk to me directly over VOIP free of charge.   I can have up to 5 callers on the line at one time.  I’ve never had it cap out, but hey, that’s a good potential problem to have, huh?

In the interest of full disclosure, anyone who calls in will have their phone number pop up on my little host switchboard.  (The Click-to-Talk people pop up as calling in from 000-000-0000 if memory serves.)  I swear on my honor as a Virginian, I have never written down or otherwise saved the phone number of anyone who’s called my show, and have no intention of doing so.   I figure anybody who wants me to have their phone number knows my email address and can give it to me explicitly.  But I wanted to be completely above board with this, just on the off chance that somebody wasn’t entirely comfortable with the idea that I might see their number.  End aside.

Last time I thought I had my new theme song all set to go…but apparently “play this music automatically upon show start” doesn’t mean quite what I thought it meant.  So anyway, the chick with the  snooty British accent will say “BlogTalkRadio!” and if I’m thinking about it, I’ll trigger the theme music myself. Although once I attempted to make myself Frodo the Nine-Fingered, I did some significant work on the drums, and now I’m a little ashamed of the version I have uploaded.  It’s supposed to feel like a motorcycle ride and smell like lemon squares, according to Dys and Beej.  You can tell me if I’m successful.

As usual, I’ll also open a chat room window for those who are interested – I usually don’t pay a lot of attention to it on the best of days (the people on the line get my first attention) but given that I’m still typing one-and-a-half-handed lately it’s pretty much guaranteed that  I won’t be chatting during the show this time.  But it’ll be there for people who want to drop snarky comments at me.

The show is scheduled for an hour.  That means that when 11:00 rolls around, the “Click to Listen” button goes away, the listening window goes dead, and nobody else can call in.  However, anybody already on the phone will still be good to go – and the show will keep recording until I hang up.  Even though nobody can listen live, it’s still being recorded for the archives. In other words, if we’re having fun, the show can run long.  In the past, we’ve generally ended up soon after the hour is over, but if things are REALLY rolling along, why stop the party bus?

There is never a set topic – this month, given the date, I’d thought about telling “fool” stories.  God knows I have plenty of them to tell about myself.  But I also never got to have my February show and talk about romance and the hilarity thereof.  I had contemplated having each caller tell a story about a romantic moment or a kiss (favorite or most amusing), but I haven’t decided whether I’ll go back to that or not.  But hey, the MotoGP testing season is complete and the season itself will crank up in earnest next weekend, World Superbike is underway already, and so forth, so let that be a threat.  Contribute to the discussion or you get an hour of me microanalyzing testing times.

It’s important to add that if there are any problems with the show, check here for updates.  If any technical snafus pop up, I’ll post up here.

Hope to hear from some of you tonight!

4 Responses

  1. You’ll be starting at 7:00 my time so I should be able to call in. And for the record? I HATE April Fool’s day. HATE it.

    So, we can talk about that. 😀

    Hah! Couldn’t have any possible connection to your husband, could it?

    Okay, you have me officially curious. You’re on. 😀

  2. hmmm, listened but never called… perhaps, perhaps

    The more the merrier!

  3. Lemon squares! Thanks! You just inadvertently gave me the idea for our Easter dessert! I’m making grasshopper pie and lemon squares!

    Glad I could help…although I always recommend The Pie, as Tiffany calls it – chocolate chip/pecan/bourbon pie. Nudge nudge.

    • Needed something non-alcoholic for my kids. Grasshopper pie is not baked. And come to find out, you need to keep alcohol at the boiling point for about 45 minutes to truly burn off the alcohol. So, the brownies I make? Still loaded. No wonder we love them! Spaghetti sauce with wine? Yep, still leaded. Ahh Alcohol! How I do love thee! Just not for the teenager, TYVM!

      Preach it, sister! 😀

Leave a Reply

