Weekend Plans

What am I gonna do for my first weekend in a while WITHOUT a club on one arm?

  • Grocery shopping (natch)
  • Laundry (ditto)
  • Attempt to halfassed clean my house since my parents are visiting next weekend
  • Watch “The Jerk” which I just bought on DVD (loved that movie since I was WAY too young to be watching it)
  • Watch some Dexter and wish I could kill people who suck
  • Watch some Legend of the Seeker and fantasize inappropriately about Cara and Kahlan
  • Watch some Big Bang Theory and decide maybe blondes ain’t so bad after all
  • Make some CDs for Kim
  • See if I can install EZDrummer on the iMac and do some work on my old recordings – if that doesn’t just piss me off even more that I can’t play guitar or bass
  • Maybe even take Boy to Bass Pro Shops to look at camping equipment or something crazy like that.
  • If I’m feeling lucky, try to play my poker game on the Xbox one-handed
  • And quite possibly, just a bit of recreational imbibing.

What’s on tap for your weekend?

7 Responses

  1. THE tap is on tap for this weekend! Plus some hiking and photography in the Tucson area. And sleep. And working out.

    You have a great weekend!

    Hmm. If the weather cooperates (which doesn’t look likely) I may try to run with Boy. So he can school the old man real good-like.

  2. You do not want to see BP’s “honey do” list. Of course, I will probably accomplish most of it myself before he gets to it. 😉

    My mom is coming to visit for a couple days on Monday. That means getting the house ship-shape a couple weeks earlier than planned. Everything I was going to shuffle off until right before my friend from Alaska gets here now suddenly, needs to be done. And I really need to finish shearing the goats so my mom can take the fiber home to spin.

    Yet, here it is, raining and I’m sitting on my rear at the computer. I spent a lazy morning sleeping in and reading Neil Gaiman’s “American Gods” because I told Aunt Krissy I would read it while her book group is reading it.

    So, my list looks like this:

    -deep clean house
    – get hay and then stack it in garage (because husband is seriously allergic and he shouldn’t be doing it
    -replace light bulb in barn, this involves a ladder and I don’t do ladders or heights
    – finish making cool chicken feeder thing, screw down compartment to feeder base
    -attack laundry pile, it resembles a shambling mound and I’ve been having nightmares of it eating me
    -garbage to the dump
    -read some more
    -and Many, Many other things that I probably won’t accomplish!

    If I ever get to bitching about my list (or Dys about hers) I’ll just remember “I need to shear the goats” and suddenly I’ll feel much, much better…

  3. I spent $273 at Target on Friday evening on new clothes, Simpsons season 12, and other assorted things. My office wardrobe is pretty goddamn shabby, so I really needed to do this. But I still winced.

    That was my major plan for the weekend: shopping. I’m also going to see some friends, see MD (it’s his birthday next week), teach my Sunday class, and hopefully do some yoga as well. Also? Studying. Test Monday night. And some wedding planning. Also hopefully will watch either Waiting for Guffman or Husbands and Wives. This sounds like sort of a busy weekend as my weekends go but that’s been the trend in the past few months.

    Well, you asked.

    Hopefully you no longer feel like you have to cram all of your weekend with activities that you couldn’t do during the week because of your shitty commute.

    And hey, Season 12! Very nice. 🙂

  4. I was enjoying reading until I got to the part about “make some cds for Kim,” and then I may or may not have let out an actual SQUEE!
    You sir, rock.
    I’ve been meaning to ask you – have you guys ever watched the AMC show Breaking Bad? I know it sucks to have someone recommend a show because there aren’t enough hours in the day as it is, even with dvr’s, but I promise, if you’re not watching it, you should. They’re showing seasons 1 & 2 on demand now and season 3 is starting March 21st.
    I don’t have enough people to exclaim with over this and it deserves it.

    We haven’t, actually. We’ll have to check that out.

  5. Whenever, wherever a friend of mine and I meet we greet each other something like this,

    “Good day, Mrs. Nussbaum.”

    “And a wonderful good day to you, Mr. Nussbaum.”

    I don’t know exactly how it started but I still hold Steve Martin responsible.

    I watched The Jerk just the other day. For the rest of the day I sang,

    Oh I’m picking out a thermos for you
    not an ordinary thermos for you
    but the extra best thermos you can buy
    with vinyl and stripes and a cup built right in
    I’m picking out a thermos for you
    and maybe a barometer too
    and what else can I buy
    so on me you’ll rely
    a rear end thermometer too

    Right behind Slap Shot, The Jerk has to be the movie I quote most. Says quite a bit about me, wouldn’t you say?

    Uh, yes, actually, it does. *takes two exaggerated steps backward*

    “Dear…Naaahvuaah.

    Neaeeeeaugah…wuuaaauuuuaaah.”

    I love that damn bit.

Leave a Reply

