It’s a Major Award!

Sadly, it’s not a leg lamp.  Damn.  That would look so awesome in my Man Cave with my amplifiers…

Oregon Sunshine tagged me with an award.

I don’t think I’ve ever been called “beautiful” before.  How should I react?  I’ll ponder…

In the meantime, I’m supposed to tell everybody seven things about myself.

1)  My work-study job in college was answering the phone and making photocopies… in a nuclear reactor. I have the dosimetry records on file to prove it.  Really it was a fairly cush gig as work-study jobs go.  But after the fifth time, your girlfriend joking that you glow in the dark gets a little old.

2)  Speaking of girlfriends, I lost my virginity at the tender age of 21.  Let’s move on, shall we?

3)  If I was to choose a racing number right now, it would be 95.  9 was always my favorite number as a kid, but most video games and so forth already have someone using that number, so I’ve gone with 95 – the year I graduated from college – and I’ve come to like it.

4)  A guy once told me “You’re such a contrary sumbitch that if you drowned, you’d float upstream.”  And that was my best friend.

5)  When I play RPG-ish kinds of games, there are two main character types I play:  a) the heart-of-gold barbarian, who never turns down a damsel in distress and solves most problems with a big laugh and an even bigger axe; b) the ultra-professional, utterly remorseless, “it’s just business” assassin.   Hmm.

6)  My first professional article will be published this year.  Yippee!  (“Professional” = “Outside my field, not even the biggest masochist could make it past page 2.”)

7)  I kinda sorta like motorcycles.  Shhhh.

Now I’m supposed to tag 15 NEW bloggers that I’m following.  Well hell, I’m not following much more than that overall!  Looking at my blogroll, there’s just over 20 of those, and several of those are either defunct or too “big” to be reading me in return – so the rest of you in ye blogroll, and my commenters too…if you’d like, consider yourself tagged, I’d love to see a ‘7 things about me’ from all of you!

9 Responses

  1. Congrats! I can’t think of anyone more deserving!

    Oh, wait, I just did.

    But that doesn’t make it any less cool.

    They make a list of people more deserving only once every ten years. It’s called “the census.” But hey…until that’s done, I’m golden.

  2. 1. It sounds like you’ve had a lot of interesting jobs.

    2. skipping…

    3. I only graduated high school in 1994.

    4. I’m pretty sure my friends would say the same about me if they had such creative euphemisms.

    5. I always played Rangers, Mages or Assassins myself. Oh, and always female.

    6. ‘Grats.

    7. Hmm… Really? I couldn’t tell.

    High school? In ’94? Sheesh.

    Dys always played thieves – but when I met her on our mud, she was playing a cleric. Cleric + barbarian = team of doom. I go apeshit on bad guys, she keeps me from bleeding to death.

    Just think – if she’d have made a thief, we might never have tried to team up so often and gotten to know each other.

  3. To quote Garth Algar “Just say ‘thank you’!”

    You know, when someone tell you that you’re beautiful. 😉

    Uh, ok…thanks, OS!

    • I could have called you “Fugly”… But that’s a whole ‘nother blog I sometimes read. And I think SHE might somehow be offended.

      Ouch. 😀

  4. This blog is great. How did you come up witht he idea?

    You’re assuming there IS an idea.

  5. I am skipping NOTHING…that is the most interesting one…but I don’t need details of the actual event.

    I think my age is the the only remarkable thing about it.

  6. I think number seven would have to be the understatement of the century.

    Surely not. Decade, I’ll grant you, but century is just pure hyperbole.

  7. 1. I want Waylon Jennins to narrate my life, like he did on Dukes of Hazzard. Only he’d say things like “What Beej didn’t know was that Todd was on the other side’a town buyin’ burritos. Guess he won’t be eatin’ that homemade chicken pot pie after all.”

    2. I am sailing my boat up the Hudson River and into Lake Champlain this summer.

    3. I bite my fingernails. A lot.

    4. I am training for a 10K.

    5. My stint as a federal grand juror has been extended for 6 mos. I am THRILLED!! I LOVE jury duty.

    6. It is AGONIZING that I cannot blog about jury duty. Fascinating stuff goes on in the deliberation room.

    7. I envy the life I’ve made for my dogs.

    I enjoyed jury duty also, and I wish I could hear more about yours. And YES, GODDAMN Waylon Jennings’ narration would be awesome! That would be even better than Sam Elliott.

  8. I suck. I wrote 7 things y’all didn’t want to know about me.

    I don’t think I know 7 things about you. Hee!

    I preferred it your way!

Leave a Reply

