A bad example

I’ve been helping my son study social studies lately, explaining to him what the branches of government do, what taxes are, and so forth.

I sincerely hope I never have to explain Senator Jim Bunning (R-KY) to a fourth-grader.

I’ll let Jon Stewart comment further; he does it better than I would.  I’ll just say that, whether I agreed with your stance or not (and I don’t), bitching about how rude it is that your colleagues made you stay up late and miss your favorite college basketball game just so you could be a one-man roadblock to extending unemployment benefits doesn’t look good to the other 300 million people in the country.  As Stewart says, at least your pain can be fixed by TiVo.

Seriously, spend 5 minutes watching the link above.  Yoicks.  Admittedly, the “wild pitch” bit is also pretty dumbass, but bitching about missing the UK-SC basketball game (and going on to elaborate on why it was “important”) has got to be one of the stupidest things in a long list of stupid things that have ever been said on the floor of Congress during my lifetime.

(Bunning did eventually back down on Tuesday, after also stonewalling all day on Monday.  Jackass.)

We now return you to your regularly scheduled, largely politics-free blog, already in progress.

4 Responses

  1. I’m shocked that nobody’s taken out a hit on that guy’s head yet.

    I read that there were anti- and, surprisingly, pro-Bunning protestors outside his office in Lexington, KY yesterday – a heated confrontation almost got violent.

  2. If he’d have backed down earlier he could have watched his stupid game. It’s his own fault.

    No kiddin’. Or, as Jon Stewart said, go buy a TiVo.

  3. I don’t remember where I saw the video but he was getting chased by a video crew and jumped into an elevator. The interviewer continued following and Bunning flipped out with something like, “You can’t come in this elevator! It’s for senators only!”

    I cracked up but wished the interviewer pointed to the person running the elevator and said, “But he’s not a senator.” Just to see the top of Bunning’s head flame.

    I saw that one, too. Supposedly it happened just after Bunning flipped off an ABC news producer.

  4. Don’t mess with basketball in Kentucky. You would be on a list if people from Kentucky could write.

    You have an excellent point there. Those Kentucky basketball fans are CRAY-ZEE. They make Duke fans look rational by comparison.

Leave a Reply

