Monday Music

I have a bunch to say about several different subjects, and I’m not sure how much I’ll even get said today.  But I’m not going to say any of it here – because this song deserves its own spotlight, with nothing else attached to it.

I’ve sent this to a couple of people privately and now I’m featuring it for everyone – this is NOT BY ME, I’m sad to say, but in the last six months this is the one piece of music that has most inspired me musically.  It is absolutely gorgeous.  The first time I heard it, I immediately started writing lyrics for it in my head before just making myself quit, because it’s too starkly beautiful to be marred in that way.  It stands better as an instrumental.

It’s definitely a winter song.  The photo in the video matches it well.  Snow on the ground and more to come, so this is the perfect day for it.  I hope you’ll all give it a listen, and I hope more than a few of you enjoy it.

Agalloch, “Odal”

One Response

  1. Thanks TB. It was exactly what I needed to start my day today.

    Honestly, I don’t usually listen to your Monday Music because usually CP is home, sitting here in the office with me working and I don’t want to disturb him or interrupt a client call somehow. But, not today.

    I decided to listen because the picture reminds me so much of Alaska it makes me homesick. I know it’s not, but the scrubby, pipe cleaner looking trees left me yearning for home.

    I did scroll down my blog reader while listening and read Cristitunity’s blog post as well. It was great background music.

    Also, I don’t think this piece needs lyrics. Not every piece needs them and the truly great ones can stand alone as just instrumental.

    I’m very glad that you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

