An upgrade to the spectrum

Yep, the rumors are true.

We finally picked up the Christmas gift that was promised by my mother-in-law – a brand spankin’ new Nikon D90 DSLR camera.  And a lens that’s bigger than my chubby come MotoGP time.  (And that’s sayin’ somethin’.)

My mother-in-law expects more and bigger and better photos of her grandson.  Which she’ll get, in spades.  But you all KNOW that this means the SERIOUS gauntlet is thrown down for this year’s GP photos.  Hell yeah. That thing’s got a manual the size of my master’s thesis, and I’m a-gonna be readin’ that sucker just as soon as I finish The Book That Ate My Winter (in two 700+ page volumes, even).

It also may mean that myself and/or the Boy get even more free use of the point & shoot.  I may be able to start hauling it with me around when I travel.  Teh Kewlz.

Better yet, though, it might just mean a whole lot more colors in the Spectrum.  That would be awesome.

2 Responses

  1. “…bigger than my chubby come MotoGP time…”

    I had to read that THREE TIMES before I convinced myself that I read it right. Guffaw!

    Congrats on that new camera smell! There will be a throw down for Best Picture at MotoGP!

    And just imagine all the stuff that I don’t share because it’s TMI…

    The Best Picture contest is ON. Pronounced “own,” dammit.

  2. YAY!! I can’t wait to see pictures! I’m so happy! WooHoo!!!!

    I already told you that I am in love with my Nikon. It came with two kit lenses that I really like and I’ve purchased one other lens so far. I would like a stronger tele/zoom eventually. But the small additions (tripod, external flash, remote and filters) have kept me more than occupied with the fun stuff!

    Thanks for the book recommendations too, Heather!

Leave a Reply

