Monday Music

Screw it.  I’ve been debating this for most of the morning and I’m going with it.

Since I failed at playing my most recent complete song on the show on Thursday night (or, rather, I decided that the sound sucked so horribly bad that I couldn’t stand it) I hereby share it with all of ya’s.  As yet it has no title, just a working title, so suggestions for a title for the song will be appreciated. Also:  I have the mp3 on hand, so anybody that wants a copy of it in that form, just drop me an email or leave a comment with your email address.

Untamed Serenity, “Untitled”

All guitars and basses played by yours truly.  Drums, well, I stitched together the loops. I packed precisely one guitar, my beloved Fender, to the in-laws for the holiday.  I also made sure to take an amp cord and the converter plug that allows me to plug into the laptop, and also to update GarageBand on the laptop to have the standard loop selection (that is, all the free ones, instead of the small sample of them with which it comes pre-packed on install).

The Fender is good at lots of things, but mainly it comes in a nice, thin rectangular case that’s easier to pack around than the big guitar-shaped Gibson case.  Basically the Fender’s single-coil pickups do clean sounds pretty damned well, but can be a little jangly, and that’s how this ended up sounding in places.  I thought about re-recording some of the parts, but decided to hell with it – for the 3 hours or so I spent recording the guitars on Christmas Eve, with my son and father-in-law including me in their conversations about the Barrett-Jackson auction in the background, I’m pretty damned happy with my playing.  Maybe I repeated myself a little too much in the solos over the changes there at the end, and the sound could be better, but for now I’m sticking with it.

Honestly, I think it’ll sound better with headphones – better bass, and some of the effects I threw in will be more obvious.  (I blame Crisitunity and her Radiohead fix for the tremolo.  Which, I think you’ll agree, makes it WAY cooler.)

Forgive the photos, for obvious reasons.  I did what I could within iMovie to make a vid, with the only photos I had on hand that made the least amount of sense to me to use.

Thoughts, comments, suggested titles, genuine criticism, lacy panties thrown on stage?

Leave a Reply

