A New Year Meme

Stolen (like I do) from Crisitunity and Snerkology

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?

Recorded music that I’d written and performed myself (well, except the looped drums).  What a rush.

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t really make concrete resolutions.  I try each year to do better than the last.  I think this past year’s resolution in that regard was a mild success.

3. How did you spend New Year’s Eve?

Playing a little bit of Lego Rock Band with Dys, then heading downstairs with a bourbon on the rocks to work on the bass line of a song I’d been recording.  Dys fetched me upstairs just in time for the ball to drop.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

It depends on how you define “close to you.”  I am in a constant state of worry over my grandfather’s health, but he made it through another year.  My beloved grad school mentor, however, passed away in March.

5. What countries did you visit?

None, which puts me 0 for the last 35 years.

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?

A firm sense of direction.

7. What date from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

January 29th, which was the second day after the ice storm:  and after about 18 hours without power, it was also the day the temperature inside our house went below 50 degrees and we decided to get the hell out of Dodge.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

My big huge work project was completed in the late spring.  It should have been done, oh, 20 years ago.  By someone other than me.  But (with a LOT of help) I done do’ed it.

9. What was your biggest failure?

My inability to deal gracefully with my own indecision.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Not significantly.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

At this instant I’d say it’s a tossup between the MotoGP tickets, my earrings, and the $5 adapter plug that’s allowing me to plug my guitars into the computer.

12. Where did most of your money go?

To my mortgage.  But I’m more pissed about the money that’s going to Citibank.

13. What song will always remind you of 2009?

I’m a little split between “Winter” by the Devin Townsend Project, one of my favorite songs released this year, or Warren Zevon’s “My Dirty Life and Times.”  I think the latter will stick in my head more clearly – it was on a CD that B&G gave me, and that’s what I was listening to when my mother called to let me know that my mentor had passed away.

14. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Gotten out of the house with my son.

15. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Wasted time being frustrated with myself.

16. What was your favourite TV program?

Probably The Big Bang Theory.

17. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Not that I can think of.

18. What was the best book you read?

A toss up between Christopher Moore’s Lamb (thanks for the tip on Moore, Heather!  Lovin’ it!) and Michael Chabon, Manhood for Amateurs.

19. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Since I’m still not remotely done with the Christmas present sent to me by Crisitunity, I’m going to go with Agalloch.

20. What was your favorite film of this year?

About the only movie I saw this year was Watchmen so I’ll go with that one.

21. What did you do on your birthday?

I actually had to go back and look at the blog to get a hint.  I went out to eat with Dys and Boy and generally sat around feeling sore from a heavy workout the day before.

22. What kept you sane?

Music, blogging, and decently regular email contact with a handful of my blog pals.

23. Who did you miss?

Mostly my good friend FellowNerd back in Virginia, who could have used a friend in turn this fall while he was utterly N LUV with a coworker and didn’t know how to handle the situation.  Situation now handled:  congratulations to FellowNerd and his girlfriend, still with that new-girlfriend-smell!

24. Who was the best new person you met?

Hmm. “Met” is such a subjective term!  The coolest new people were brought into my life by older people:  my friend Michael’s fiancee Eva, and Crisitunity’s BF.  Of course, I just physically met Crisitunity herself just over a month ago, so that might count.

25. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009:

My greatest limiting factor is myself.  Cut loose the naysaying voice and fly.

2 Responses

  1. New-girlfriend-smell. SNORT.

    Also, love the answer to 25!

    Thankya thankya!

  2. Mmmm, bourbon on the rocks, knew there was something I liked about you, TB!! Nectar of the gods.

    Ditto that, Ellie! A nice bourbon on the rocks during a GP race, then?

Leave a Reply

