The Yums

Having made The Pie ™ for the last couple of years for my office Christmas party, this year I wanted to try something different.  Especially after all of us went nuts over my grandmother’s contribution to Thanksgiving this year…something called “Texas Chocolate Cake.”

I tried and failed to obtain Granny’s recipe, so I found one online.  I made it on Sunday, and it was a WIN.  We’ve been nibbling away at it ever since then…slowly, so as not to induce instant diabetes.

My fellow NoButts compatriots should look away NOW, or I will absolve myself of responsibility for your waistlines.  Just reading the ingredients will probably make you pop a button.

Texas Chocolate Cake

2 cups flour
2 cups sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup margarine
4 tablespoons cocoa
1 cup water
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 teaspoon soda

for the frosting

6 tablespoons milk
1/2 cup margarine
4 tablespoons cocoa
1 box powdered sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350.  Sift together cinnamon, sugar & flour and set aside.  Bring to boil margarine, cocoa & water.  Pour boiled mixture over dry mixture; mix well.  Mix & add eggs, vanilla & buttermilk with soda added. Do not use mixer. Bake in 13×9″ sheet pan for 30 minutes.

When that’s almost ready to come out, make the frosting:

Boil milk, margarine, and cocoa for 1 minute.  Stir in powdered sugar; pour over hot cake.  Sprinkle with chopped nuts if you desire.

NOM NOM NOM.

6 Responses

  1. The Taoist Baker! I can see the series now!

    Speaking of you, gee, whodathunk I’d think of you when I saw this:

    http://www.techeblog.com/index.php/tech-gadget/motorcycle-with-rocket-pods-shoots-rockets-at-the-push-of-a-button

    Dude! Where do I sign up?

  2. Sounds delicious! I shall have to give it a go and use that bourbon vanilla I told you about (a bottle of which is on its way to you, by the way).

    *Homer drooling*

    • I’m thinking this is basically the same as “The Best Chocolate Cake Ever” (quotes used loosely – I didn’t look it up!) from Pioneer Woman.

      And it is PAINFULLY good!

      Yep, it’s very similar to this one from Pioneer Woman. She uses a little salt instead of cinnamon in the cake, that seems to be the most significant difference.

  3. Yeah, I think I am going to try this as well. While I am not much of a cook, I can bake like it’s nobody’s business.

    I’m not much of either, but I can generally follow a recipe.

  4. Holy CRAP.

    Well said, madam!

  5. Looks amazing! I will try it later this week. I have plans to diet in January, but have reached the rather hedonistic concolusion that trying to do it before then is self defeating!

    I know what you mean, Suz!

Leave a Reply

