Those Who Can’t Do

I think I’ve mentioned it obliquely here once or twice, but I’m teaching a class next semester.  Co-teaching, actually, with a couple of my coworkers, and the topic is basically an introduction to our field.

Here’s the funny part:  I never took such a class. Anywhere.  Not one.  All my training has been on-the-job.  And once a boss said “You want a promotion?  Here, read this textbook.”

I know my job and my field.  I’m actually quite good at what I do, even when I don’t necessarily like doing it.  But I consider my ability to do my job so well without such underpinnings to be something of an indictment of the professional literature and theory of the field.  For every important new idea in the field – probably less than one a year – there are dozens and dozens of articles that are rearranging the same old nick-nacks on the same old shelves.

So now I’m busily reading the professional literature that I’m pondering assigning in the spring.  I AM learning just a little bit – but mostly it’s “Yeah…mmm-hmm…yeah…is it 5 o’clock yet?  8:28?!?!?!?  AUGH!!!”

Not to mention that my public speaking style is somewhat authoritative.  I’m often asked about my military background afterward.  (Maybe the earrings will change that now.)  I’ve never had to do a lot of sharing-the-stage in such situations.   But I will now, and I’ll have to find ways to preach what I believe and NOT what I don’t believe.  Without ticking off my co-teachers.

This will make for an interesting experience.

4 Responses

  1. I can’t wait to hear all about it! Very cool!

  2. I’m with Laura. Also, knowing the field, I am not REMOTELY surprised by what I read here.

  3. That sounds like it’ll be a lot of fun. At an old job I used to train co-workers on a content management software we were using on our site, and it was SO MUCH FUN! I wanted to do that full time.

  4. Just the thought of public speaking makes my butthole clinch up, so just one more thing to admire about the awesomeness that is you!

Leave a Reply

