Repeat Offender

I done stole something again.  This one’s a meme from Laura.

***

What is your idea of perfect happiness?
Sadly, it appears to be impossible (or at least far beyond my personal ability) to have sex while on a moving motorcycle – because that would be it.

Seriously, a moment of perfect happiness for me would be quiet stillness in which I was at peace with myself – past, present, and future.  Rare enough, for sure, but not outside the realm of possibility.

What is your greatest fear?
That I might fail my son as a father.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?
Cowardice, which is largely a function of a lack of belief in myself.

What is the trait you most deplore in others?
Deliberate ignorance brought on by closed-mindedness.

On what occasion do you lie?
It’s a point of pride that Dys has once upbraided someone, in writing, with something like “You clearly don’t understand that my husband doesn’t lie.”  Clearly a hyperbole, because everybody does, but that’s one of the best compliments I’ve ever had.  (Thanks again, babe.)  Generally when I do lie it is to protect the feelings of others.

What is your greatest extravagance?
Hmm.  Overall, I’m most likely to splurge on stuff like guitars or motorcycles, but those BIG splurges are few and far between.  My now-annual MotoGP trip is probably the most unnecessary hedonistic expense right now.  If you mean regularly, probably buying expensive bourbon.  Not the crazy $100 a liter stuff, but I usually buy stuff that’s ~$35-40 for a 750ml.

What is your current state of mind?
A little tense, since I have a crapload going on in my personal and professional life in the immediate future, but generally I’m happier with myself than is the norm for me.  I’m hoping this is the new norm.

What is the quality you most like in a man?
Loyalty.

What is the quality you most like in a woman?
Self-confidence.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?
“Anyway.”

When and where were you happiest?
In the hospital when my son was born; walking along the sidewalk at UVA on an unusually warm February day when I first realized that I didn’t just have an infatuation with Dys but that I was full-blown in love with her.

Who are your favorite writers?
Tolkien, C. S. Friedman,  Hunter Thompson, Robert Pirsig, and I’m sure I’m forgetting a dozen others.

Which talent would you most like to have?
Besides the ability to never, ever crash a motorcycle?  There are many abilities I would wish for, but the one above all would be the ability to adequately express myself musically.  Instrument not important.  I was thinking about this last weekend, actually – that artistic expression is such a fabulous thing, but given the choice between having a perfect ability to express myself through art, writing, or music, music would win every single time, hands down.

If you could change one thing about your family, what would it be?
About $250,000 would go a long way toward solving a lot of problems…   Seriously, I’d give my son the self-confidence that I never had to deal with his small anxieties, and give my wife the unification of a focused mind that I think she desperately wishes for (from time to time at least).

If you died and came back as a person or thing, what do you think it would be?
Some solitary predator like a bear or an eagle.

What do you dislike most about your appearance?
My gut.  Thanks, dad & granddad.  After that?  If I had my choice, I’d have my full head of shoulder-length hair back, but generally the bald thing is okay with me.

Where would you like to live?
A small town called Lovingston, Virginia, in the mountains not far south of Charlottesville.  Or inside a roadracing course like that Kawasaki commercial from a few years back.  That was funny.

What is your most treasured possession?
I assume you mean a physical possession and not “my family” or “my health.”  So I’ll say my Fender Stratocaster.

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?
Betrayal.

What do you most value in your friends?
Respect and loyalty.

What are your favorite names?
My son’s.  Aside from that, honestly, I dunno of any that I particularly like.

What is it that you most dislike?
Aggressively “me-first” behavior.  There is too much of this in the world.

What is your greatest regret?
Not standing up for myself when I should have.

How would you like to die?
Like my great-uncle John.  Having lived a good, long life, still being in decent health of body and mind, walking along the dirt road to visit some friends, and BANG, massive heart attack in mid-stride.

What is your motto?
“The Way that can be described is not the eternal Way.”

One Response

  1. I like these memes (that always makes me want to do an opera voice: “Me me me ME me me meeeee!”) where the questions make you think and the answers give us a little peek into the minds of people I think are interesting already.

    I completely agree. But I was an absolute survey junkie in my Myspace days, so perhaps I’m the wrong person to ask.

Leave a Reply

