Radio Show Tonight!

So did I mention that this was gonna happen?

And tonight I have the hottest, awesomest cohost on earth.  And if you don’t buy the hyperbole, I will at least guarantee that it was the hottest, awesomest cohost I could find in my living room.  Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the lovely and talented Dyskinesia.

The big button above (or this link) will take you to my radio show profile page.  The show will go live at 10pm Eastern time tonight.   Unless your name is Dyskinesia, in which case it’s 9:30.  The show starts at 9:30. (That joke will cost me some sex.)

Click on the big-ass button above or click the link to stop by and listen in! At 10pm, a “Click to Listen” button will appear on my profile page there and you can click that to stream the show live.  Or, for the adventurous, you can call in and talk to me on the air. The call-in number is:

(646) 915-8720

That being a New York phone number (and definitively not mine), long distance charges may apply. However, there should be a “click to talk” button, which should in theory allow anyone with a microphone connected to their computer to click the button and talk to me directly over VOIP free of charge.  I think that’s how one of my callers did it once, so that seems to be working A-OK.  I can have up to 5 callers on the line at one time.  And unless we try to use both lines of the house phone, Dys will count as one of those.  I’ve never had it cap out, but hey, that’s a good potential problem to have, huh?

In the interest of full disclosure, anyone who calls in will have their phone number pop up on my little host switchboard.  (The Click-to-Talk people pop up as calling in from 000-000-0000 if memory serves.)  I swear on my honor as a Virginian, I have never written down or otherwise saved the phone number of anyone who’s called my show, and have no intention of doing so.   I figure anybody who wants me to have their phone number knows my email address and can give it to me explicitly.  But I wanted to be completely above board with this, just on the off chance that somebody wasn’t entirely comfortable with the idea that I might see their number.  End aside.

When 10 rolls around, the chick with the snooty British accent will say “BlogTalkRadio!” and then yours truly will be drawlin’ on the airwaves.  Like last time, I’ll also open a chat room window for those who are interested – but I’m not sure how much attention I’ll be paying to it.  My guess is that the more folks I have on the line, the less time I’ll be watching the chat window.  But I am just winging this whole thing, after all, so whatever.

As a side note, the show is scheduled for an hour. That means that, as I understand it, when 11:00 rolls around, the “Click to Listen” button goes away, the listening window goes dead, and nobody else can call in.  However, anybody already on the phone will still be good to go – and the show will keep recording until I hang up.  Even though nobody can listen live, it’s still being recorded for the archives. In other words, if we’re having fun, the show can run long.  I went to bed stupidly early last night to help stay awake for it, and I’ll have a Coke with dinner to make sure.

There is as yet no set topic, and none of you buggers have submitted any ideas.  If she’s feeling healthy enough, Laura has said that she’ll call in, in which case there’s a good chance we’ll end up talking about our joint trip next year to the 2010 Red Bull Indianapolis GP. (WOO!)  We don’t have to stick to any topic, though, and anybody that calls in gets the chance to help determine the direction of the conversation, so let that be a mini-bribe.  If nobody helps steer the conversation, then you’ll likely get treated to a good solid hour of our typical rambling evening conversation, and in that case, all bets are off.

It’s important to add that if there are any problems with the show, check here for updates.  If any technical snafus pop up, I’ll post up here.

Hope to hear from some of you tonight!

3 Responses

  1. HAH! Turns out that was my 777th post.

    1) Does that number make anybody else think of Steve Vai?

    2) I can’t believe I missed my 666th post. D’oh!

  2. I. Seriously. Forgot. I just went to bed. (At 9:30.) I am such an idiot. And very sorry.

    Hey, just the night before I went to bed at 9:30 myself. And I was yawning during the show even then.

    Go back and listen to the recording, I think you might enjoy! 😀

  3. Epic 😀 I found your blog on Ask looking for something else entirely- now I’m going to need to go back and read the old posts! So long spare time this morning, but this was a really spectacular find

Leave a Reply

