Still hangin’

Still alone in my hotel room.  And now that I’ve passed the 36-hour threshold, yes, I’m missing my family.  Especially since Boy is sick.  He hasn’t even been bugging Dys for snack food, which is not a good sign in our house.

But anyway, the conference continues.  There are a few people who can get me fired up about my profession, and one of the guys who spoke this morning, the former president of our national association, is one of them.  I like this dude.  And he gave me some ideas to take back to my shop, which is pretty cool.

But wearing a tie for two consecutive days and being away from the civilizing effects of my wife and child has an odd effect on me.  I had a bit of a manic episode a few hours ago (see Twitter for evidence) that has abated a little bit, but I’m still alone and in a college town and I’m feeling a little bit like going out and having a few drinks and maybe being a bit sociable.  Knowing me the latter part may well dissipate upon contact with actual human beings, but what the hell, I’ve been sociable with strangers for the last two days and it’s worked out pretty well.  Just in this case I’m feeling crazed enough to skip the dine-arounds with the other conference attendees on the off chance that I have a bourbon in my gut and one in my hand and say something entirely inappropriate.  I’ll go out alone this time, thanks.

I’ve got a little more conferencing left and then I’m flying back home tomorrow afternoon to my more-but-less boring life, and that’s pretty cool.  Hope y’all have a good weekend.

3 Responses

  1. On the very few occasions I’ve had to travel alone I experience that simultaneous I’M FREE / I’M HOMESICK feeling and I know it’s a completely different situation when you’re on a work trip. The one work trip I took I accidentally found a black leather Harley Davidson jacket the owner of the store was selling ridiculously cheap ($120) that fit like it was made for me and though I no longer have it due to very sad yet boring reasons, I will always consider that trip a success because of it.
    I hope you have a great weekend back home with your people!

    Wow, I’m sorry you don’t still have that jacket. Sounds like a great find.

    I had a pretty good weekend, except for Boy being sick…

  2. Omg.
    I just got a lot of enjoyment from reading your Twitter stream and I’m very sad I wasn’t reading it in real time as it was happening.
    Fuck-a-doodle-dooo – HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!

    Heh, gracias!

  3. […] one day back at home is a little freakish.  After the first 24 hours I usually miss my family (see most recent evidence).  For the first trip, the family will be there, but I’m betting after about the third day […]

Leave a Reply

