Ballet of Death

Blame my buddy J on my motorcycle forum for this one.  Wow.

Super slow-motion bullet impacts:

I found myself unable to look away.  Strangely beautiful.

As several of my cohorts on the board are saying, it’s amazing how metal behaves like a liquid under those forces, and the glass fractures are stunning.

Personally, I’m fascinated by how the concave base of the bullets are rendered convex – at the symmetry as they flower open on impact – and at the damage caused in the ballistics or whatever gel they’re using.  Holy crap!

3 Responses

  1. The slow-motion physics of all of that was truly gorgeous to see.

    I do wish they’d skipped using the animal-shaped figures at the end; that kinda sucked.

    Ah. Those are silhouette targets – extremely common on gun ranges, etc. Made of cast iron so they give a loud CLANG to let you know you hit it. Sometimes they flip down and turn up a little circle, that you then shoot to flip it back up. To me, since they’re so commonly seen around firing ranges I didn’t notice anything at all unusual.

    As someone who sees gunshot wounds (and people dying from them) every single day on the job, as I watched this, I also saw the rampant and massive destruction these cause in the human body. I hope that other people take that away from it in the very sobering way that they should.

    That was part of my mind-boggling at the ballistics gel.

  2. A friend of mine does ballistics for a big city police department. I often have to stop him because he gets so amped up talking about it I’m afraid he’s going to end up setting up jello molds around the house.

    And I know from experience, he wife does not approve.

    Heheheheh, I was just imagining the look on the wife’s face there.

  3. I’ve been in his house many times and her expression is always the same, “What the hell am I coming home to this time?”

    I walked into his house one day when his kid was just a toddler. I sat next to the kid and said,

    “Hey, your kids chewing on a crime scene photo.” He looks over and says,

    “Yeah, he always picks the gruesome ones.”

    Suddenly I no longer wonder why he’s befriended YOU. 😉

Leave a Reply

