Plugged In

It’s really quite rare for me that I really have these moments, but I just had one, and the feeling is just transcendent.

I just finished my lunchtime guitar practice, and just about all day I’ve had one song in my head:  one of my favorites, Jonny Lang’s “Red Light.”  I had a little time this morning before work in which I tried to practice Opeth’s “Closure” but over lunch I just decided to go with Jonny.

It turned out to be one of those moments in which I just get plugged in to that particular song and it all just seems to work.  That doesn’t mean I never put a finger wrong, because I sure as hell did; it just means that I was feeling it, that my sensibilities were in the right places at the right times, and for the 45 minutes or so I spent playing probably 30 or 35 minutes’ worth were spent hitting notes that felt right.

It’s not a giddy feeling, but kind of a quiet, wistfully awesome feeling.  I’ll frickin’ take it.

4 Responses

  1. Well, well, well. I guess this is just as good a place as any to talk about this.

    TB, you’ve left me flummoxed. Now I’ll have no idea what to do on rainy days when I’m homicidal! Damn! Do I take a shovel to the back of a near-do-wells head? Or give them hot cocoa with mini marshmallows? Do I apologize while taking the ice pick out of an ear (or two – sometimes I’m ambitious) or carve them an ice sculpture of the naked ‘Love Is. . .” characters?

    I don’t need this pressure, pal!

    Seriously, TB, thank you so much. I’ll be tossing them into the old ear canal right after my Jim Carroll marathon. I got a call earlier from a mutual friend who was at the funeral. She was pretty frazzled. They were very close.

    I loved your ‘liner notes’ too. I will say that I will not let my girlfriend hear the STW disc. Not that I’m afraid of death (I eat meat from street vendors – street meat, as it were), I’m afraid I’d never get it back.

    Thanks again. You made my day.

    Awesome, man! 😀

  2. This is terrif. Glad to hear it.

    😀 It felt gooooood.

  3. I miss that feeling. For me, it involves horses and the near perfect ride; that perfect moment of harmony. Guess I’ll have to really start bugging the Husband to get my Casey moved home from the trainers. Or maybe I should just ride Kitty’s mare since she’s here.

    Saddle up! Everybody needs that feeling every once in a while. It’s a nice reset button for the grumps.

  4. I have to tell you the homicidal mix sure makes one hell of a yard work soundtrack! It got me through four hours of lawn mowing and I haven’t even cracked the surface of the CD! Great work, TB! Stellar!

    “I hear each blade of grass cry out for mercy…and I LAUGH AS I SLAY THEM! MWUAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!!!”

    *grin*

Leave a Reply

