Too Excited?

Well, I sent this out to a select few who I know would appreciate it to ask if I should blog it or not…so far the vote is unanimous!

I may be a little too excited about the race this weekend.

We’re leaving tonight, so of course this morning in and amongst the typical morning routine for Boy and I, I was doing a bunch of last-minute trip prep stuff.  Dys worked until, oh, 4am or so again last night since she’s *GASP!!* taking a few days off for this whole trip, so she was out cold this morning:  it all fell to me.  And, as it turned out, she wasn’t conscious to save me.

Charge the iPod?  Check.  Grab the razor?  Check.  Conditioner (works as well as shaving cream in the shower, and cheaper to boot)?  Check.  Aftershave?  Check.  Books to go?  Check.

I have an event to attend at the office this afternoon, so I had to forego the jeans for a shirt and tie.  As I got out of the shower, I pondered getting dressed, but then said “No, I’m too crazed this morning, too much chance I’ll get grape jelly or OJ or something on my white shirt.”  So I just pulled on my undershirt and a pair of mesh basketball shorts.

Fast-forward a few hours, and I’m here at the office, making my first bathroom trip of the day.  And I’m…having trouble.  As in, I can’t find my dick.

“WTF?  I know I grabbed a pair of boxers with a fly.  I’m not drunk.  It’s not that small.  At least I don’t think so.”

You know what the problem is by now, don’t you?

Yep.  A quick glance, red mesh.  I’ve been wearing the goddamned shorts under my slacks all fucking day.

Oh well!

***

Unlike last year, I’ll have the capability to blog from the road, so I won’t bother posting a “This is what I’ll probably be doing today” series.  If you want to know the event schedule, check here.  The (very tentative and fluid) plans are to hit the track early every day – do our vendor area walkthrough on Friday morning, buy whatever souvenirs we can’t live without, hear the rider Q&A’s, and then hang around and take a schload of photos all afternoon on Friday.  Saturday morning, maybe more photos, then up to our seats for qualifying – maybe hook up with a couple of my buds from my motorcycle forum for a few.  Sunday – it’s all day in the penthouse, baby, rockin’ and rollin’.

We’ve been dreading the potential weather ever since we learned they moved the race from last year’s date of mid-September to the end of August.  We were just sure we’d be burned to a crisp.  What’s the weather for this weekend?

Accuweather:

  • Friday high 82, low 60, 40% chance of t-storms
  • Saturday high 73, low 51, variable clouds, 40% chance of t-storms
  • Sunday high 72, low 52, partly to mostly sunny (2% chance precip)

The Weather Channel:

  • Friday high 82, low 64, 40% chance of t-storms
  • Saturday high 74, low 51, partly cloud (20% chance precip)
  • Sunday high 66, low 49, partly cloudy (10% chance precip)

A high of 66?  In August?!?  Holy crap!  I actually had to go back and pack a pair of jeans.  Actually I think I’d prefer it to be in the low or mid 70s each day, but fuck it, I ain’t complaining!

Unless something pops up, this is probably the last you’ll hear from me this side of Indy, folks – bear with me, the onslaught of moto-gasm is about to begin, but if you can grit your teeth and get through the next week or so, we’ll be back to my usual blather.  😉

Catch ya on the flip side!

4 Responses

  1. How DARE you post something like that! Who wants to hear about your inability to dress yourself! Ech!

    Hahahahahaha. Are you kidding? When I read that this morning I couldn’t help but to laugh. It reminded when of when I was teaching at this club. I’d shower after every few lessons just to be fresh. I got hung up after a lesson so jumped into my office for a quick rinse off.

    The lesson’s about to start so I toss on some clothes and go to work. About 45 minutes in I decided to take off my sweat pants.

    But quickly change my mind when my ass felt a chill.

    Dude. Okay, you got me on that one. 😀

  2. I’m just thrilled at the panic you had to have when, for that split second, you thought you were a Ken doll.

  3. http://www.smh.com.au/news/sport/motorsport/stoner-heads-north-career-goes-south/2009/08/27/1251001989498.html

    Ellie – good link! Glad to hear the word from Oz on that whole situation. I read an article on MotoGPMatters (link to the right) yesterday that quoted Casey as saying he wasn’t mad at Ducati, his motivation was fine, he just couldn’t recover as long as he was in the weekly grind. I can’t say I blame him, but it really did pretty much kill off his championship hopes. And I’ll miss seeing him this weekend.

Leave a Reply

