Every new beginning…

…comes from some other beginning’s end.

I was driving Boy to school this morning, with the radio off in opposition to the usual practice.  It was a bright, brilliant morning and looking like the definition of “fine spring day.”

“It sure is a pretty day today, isn’t it, son?”

“I’ll say it is!”  Yes, that’s literally what he said.

I spent most of the drive thinking  that soon his school year would be over, and along with it, our daily 30-minute morning commute.  Oh, I won’t miss having to get up at 5:30 to get everything moving for the household, but I’ll miss that time with him.  Even though we were usually quite quiet in the morning (especially him; he takes after his mom that way), it was still nice to have that time with him, to once or twice reach back behind me and have him take my hand in his smaller one.

So I told him that I’d miss the ride, and while he didn’t necessarily agree (going to school and all, you know), he acknowledged it.

“Do you know why I’ll miss the ride to school?”

“Well you’ll miss me.”

“Yes, son, I’ll miss spending time with you.  Even this quiet time.”

“Yeah.”

Pretty soon his time at this school will be done, and he’ll move to the next school.  A bigger change for him than me, certainly.  But all pains in the ass aside, I will miss those mornings with him.

One Response

  1. Sunrise, sunset.

    Cat’s in the cradle and the silver spoon.

    Yes, we have no bananas. We have no bananas today.

Leave a Reply

