Older

I’m out of the office today, unplugging my graduate degree and doing some good old manual labor for a change.  It’s part of the job, I knew it when I signed on, and it’s okay.  It’s a pain, true, but sometimes it’s nice to be able to unplug from the phone, the email account, and the rest of the world and concentrate on the three feet in front of my face for a while.

In doing some similar work lately, though, I’ve been forced to the realization that I’m not 20 years old anymore.  This little shindig today is something that we do annually (give or take the occasional year) around here.  When I first climbed on board, I was not yet 30 and I took this little task, held it up in the air by the ankles with one hand and spanked its ass with the other.

Over the past few years, I’ve still kicked its ass, but I’ve been a lot more sore afterward.

This year it’s been more like “Ooh, who shortened my Achilles tendons by an inch?  I’m hobbling like a crippled old bitch!”

I don’t know exactly what I expected would happen, or when, but it’s only been in the past year that I’ve seriously started looking at some of the things I do and saying to myself, “Damn, I really can’t keep this up forever.  I can already tell the difference.  What’s it gonna be like in 10 more years?”

I’m not exactly out shopping for walkers, but it’s sobering to start to get the first, earliest, tiniest peek at myself limited not so much by weakness (which is applicable) or being out of shape (which is certainly applicable) or out-and-out clumsiness (always a factor) as by age.

Hmm.  Maybe I should skip the Ducati and go straight to the Gold Wing?

Nah.

11 Responses

  1. Let’s just call it out of shape and not old…but if it were a Gold Wing or nothing, wouldn’t you still take it?

    Don’t tell nobody, but I’d actually really like a Gold Wing. Very much. Just not as my only bike…more as my second bike. And good luck convincing Dys to let me have a $20k “second bike.”

  2. I also am voting for out of shape. Not because I’m trying to spare your feelings, but because of what happened the last time you went to the gym.

    Touche. And I still haven’t been in the gym recently again – working too late, etc. Hopefully that’ll change soon.

  3. Yesterday I helped Brian do some yard work for about an hour, maybe ninety minutes. This morning I felt like I got run over by a truck.
    Friggin’ sucks.

    Ayup.

  4. NOTHING wrong with a Gold Wing. NOTHING.

    Absolutely. Except the price tag. Ouch.

  5. Yep, all the old folks love a Gold Wing! 😉

    You’re beating yourself up way too much!

    Yep, I’m all beat up, but I used to call that process “working!” 😀

  6. Good news – I feel better today than I did the other day, by quite a bit! I even took advantage of the brief window of damp but not actually rainy weather to mow when I got home. Whereas I’d been pretty much assuming I’d come home, crawl into the shower, and crawl out of the shower and into a glass of bourbon.

    So I called and put my Gold Wing order on hold for another few months. 😉

  7. Dude, I so know what you mean. I used to be able to stay up all night, all day, totally shitfaced. Now, it’s “Is it bedtime yet?” at midnight, totally sober. And I’m only 25!!

    Getting older sucks.

    Honestly, I was never much of an all-night person. If I’m liquored up, maybe 2-3am max. I think I made it to 4 or 5 after a Tool show once – 2 hour drive back, totally sober and totally amped, and then we went and closed the local bar down. Then some wink-wink-nudge-nudge time, and holy crap does that clock say what I think it does?

    But that was, uh, 8 or 9 years ago…

    • I’m jealous that you can make it midnight. When I was 25 I was lucky if I made it to 11:00.

      I had my son when I was 25. I might have been up late, but it was fuckin’ A against my will.

  8. I vote out of shape too. It just sounds better than old. Out of shape can be fixed, getting older just means getting older.

    If I have a vote, I’ll sure as hell vote out of shape!

  9. I’m in the minority, I think. I’d much rather be old. Aging isn’t my fault. However, the fact that I am out of shape? ALL MY FAULT.

    I kinda like being old. 😀

    You make an excellent point.

    I don’t mind my age at all. But I do mind not being able to do stuff like I want to!

  10. I feel the aging process every time I got to the playground with the imp. Like when I swing for 2 minutes and think my hips can’t take it anymore. I used to swing for the entire recess, stopping only when the whistle sounded. Secretly, I think swinging is overrated. I’m just glad I don’t have to eat cafeteria pizza anymore.

    Yeah, I don’t think swings made me have the faintest inklings of motion sickness back when I used to think it was hysterical to make the chains go slack…

    My best friend used to get a double lunch every time they had pizza. I thought that stuff was nasty, personally. But then again, so was most of the cafeteria food.

Leave a Reply

