Bookworms, Unite!

Surprise!  I’m vacating today, so I scheduled a post.  In fact, if my buddy Michael’s last visit is any indication, I spent last night staying up way too late (damn Pacific time pals) and getting partially blitzed while talking about a psychotically random series of topics and trying to keep up with the smartest guy I know.

(Quick edit, 6:58 this morning…yep.  I was right.  Too damned bad I gotta get up and take Boy to school!)

So wtf?  Meme time.  I’m a reader, so this literary meme hit the spot.  I talk about a lot of these in a little more depth, and a few more books besides, in my reading list.  But to get on with it…

Stolen shamelessly (like I do) from Laura. I was linking everything, but finally I figured “bah.”  You guys are smart enough to check Amazon without me holding your hands there.  (The exception is Ghost Rider, which I linked to my review of it.

1) What author do you own the most books by?
Probably Tolkien.

2) What book do you own the most copies of?
The Lord of the Rings, because I’ve worn one copy completely out and I’ve mostly worn out a second.  So, you know, I needed a third.

3) Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions?
Nah.  Dys is the grammarian of the family.

4) What fictional character are you secretly in love with?
I can’t say that I really have one.

5) What book have you read the most times in your life (excluding picture books read to children; i.e., Goodnight Moon does not count)?
LOTR has about ten years over Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, but the latter is probably catching up.

6) What was your favorite book when you were ten years old?
Tarzan comics.

7) What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year?
Censoring Sex:  A Historical Journey Through American Media. With a title like that, you’d think it couldn’t be boring, right?  You’d be wrong.  I couldn’t make myself finish it.

8 ) What is the best book you’ve read in the past year?
Ghost Rider,with Moore’s A Dirty Job coming in second.  Thanks for that last one, Heather!

9) If you could force everyone you tagged to read one book, what would it be?
ZAMM. Followed closely by Watchmen and Youth In Revolt by C. D. Payne.

10) Who deserves to win the next Nobel Prize for Literature?
I am completely unqualified to answer.

11) What book would you most like to see made into a movie?
Black Sun Rising, but I despair of it ever happening – at least in any way that wouldn’t make me cringe.

12) What book would you least like to see made into a movie?
ZAMM.

13) Describe your weirdest dream involving a writer, book, or literary character.
I can’t remember one, honestly.

14) What is the most lowbrow book you’ve read as an adult?
I haven’t read anything really trashy.  Depending on how you define “lowbrow,” maybe Drew Carey’s Dirty Jokes and Beer or perhaps Jim Goad’s The Redneck Manifesto.

15) What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read?
Bailyn’s Ideological Origins of the American Revolution.

16) What is the most obscure Shakespeare play you’ve seen?
None of the obscure ones.  Hell, I’ve barely seen the standards.

17) Do you prefer the French or the Russians?
WTF?  Does it matter?  Is this a red-baiting question?

18) Roth or Updike?
Haven’t read either, so don’t give a crap.

19) David Sedaris or Dave Eggers?
Haven’t read either.  I keep wanting to read Sedaris but his books are always out when I go to check them out of the U’s library.

20) Shakespeare, Milton, or Chaucer?
Milton was probably the best of the three, but I’m a sucker for a sonnet.

21) Austen or Eliot?
Which Eliot?  I don’t care about Austen, really, but I loathed Silas Marner with a fervent passion, so just about anybody would win out over George Eliot/Mary Evans.  I’d have to give T. S. Eliot the edge, though.

22) What is the biggest or most embarrassing gap in your reading?
There are lots of them, but none bother me.

23) What is your favorite novel?
I dunno.  I think LOTR wins.

24) Play?
J.B. I always wanted to play Nickles.  Second would be The Glass Menagerie.  Playing Tom Wingfield would be fun, too.

25) Poem?
There’s a long list, actually, but if I had to pick one it would be Yeats’ The Second Coming. Maybe Stevens’ Sunday Morning after that.

26) Essay?
Swift’s A Modest Proposal.

27) Short story?
Poe, “The Masque of the Red Death”

28) Work of nonfiction?
Well, ZAMM is nonfiction, but it’s a little weird in that way.  Pure nonfiction, I’d probably say William Freehling’s The Road to Disunion, Vol. 1.

29) Who is your favorite writer?
There are so many who do great things in different ways.  It depends on my mood.

30) Who is the most overrated writer alive today?
Dunno.  I don’t generally read bestsellers, but surely it’s one of those big-name authors I see on the grocery store stands.

31) What is your desert island book?
Bradford Angier’s How to Stay Alive in the Woods.  If I had to be entertained rather than save my ass, though, I guess ZAMM.

32) And… what are you reading right now?
I’m gradually working my way through Sam Wineburg’s Historical Thinking and Other Unnatural Acts while also skimming through a series of fiction or other light reading as well.  Currently the latter place is being taken by Benjamin Hoff’s The Tao of Pooh and Kathleen Parker’s Save the Males.   I love the former, having read it before, but I’m not finding the latter all that noteworthy.

3 Responses

  1. I love The Tao of Pooh!! I totally agree about TS Eliot. And no problem for the ‘Dirty Job’ recommendation, I can’t say enough good things about Christopher Moore. I’m just happy you enjoyed it. 😀

    I, too, have had a difficult time checking out David Sedaris from the library. It’s frustrating, the books are ALWAYS checked out. Some of his audio books are there, but I have a hard time listening to those for some reason.

    I’ll look up some of your recommendations next time I’m at the library.

    What a buncha nerds…

    Gee, that’s a familiar refrain around me for some reason. 😀

  2. I love The Tao of Pooh, too! (Woo!) I recently gave it as a gift to a friend of mine.

    Perhaps we should term our blogger get-together, “NerdyBookCon”? “BookyNerdCon”? “ConnyBookNerd”?

    Heh. Of the three, I vote for #1…

  3. There’s a reason the Sedaris books are always checked out!!!
    I love that we both picked survival books for our desert island choice – very practical.
    I may have to check out that Redneck Manifesto; that sounds right up my alley!

    I found The Redneck Manifesto at one of those big huge one-weekend-only remainders sale and couldn’t resist the title for $3 or whatever. It’s not great but not bad…Goad’s use of history isn’t too infallible so some of the conclusions he draws aren’t supported by the evidence…but he also makes some interesting points. It’s a definite argument for the whole “The Man has us fighting each other so he stays on top!” theory. You can read the first few pages on Amazon – if that doesn’t offend you, fire away!

Leave a Reply

