Monday Music

Well, did you save any daylight yesterday?

If everybody was as alert as I was this morning, I’m not so surprised at the traffic accidents I ran into this morning.  You know, the ones that ended with me taking 42 minutes to traverse a 6-mile stretch of interstate along my commute.

I suggest that the Monday after “spring forward” be made a national holiday to save us this sort of bleary-eyed crap in the future.  I’d suggest that it be named “Dragging Ass Day” if I wasn’t fairly sure that was so ludicrously uncreative that three or four dozen people hadn’t publicly suggested that already.  But I’m too beat to come up with something snappier.  Any ideas?

Anyway.

I had an idea for this week’s MM last week, but while making dinner on Friday night I heard this song on the radio and said “Ok, never mind, this is it.”

Five Finger Death Punch, “Stranger Than Fiction”

Yes, it’s heavy, but Dys was calling from the other room saying “Who was that?” which proves that it’s not TOO heavy.

Personally, the more I hear of 5FDP the more I regret not seeing them when they came to town last fall.  Of course, they were playing in the same 2-week period as GWAR and Opeth, and I could only take the time and money to see one.  To me, that’s a no-brainer.  (Hint:  the Swedes won.)

But still, I’m finally breaking down and adding “The Way of the Fist” to my album wish list and keeping an eye out for them on the calendar from now on.

Hope you’re all mostly awake, upright, and not stuck in traffic.

4 Responses

  1. Ack, it’s too early for heavy metal…no, wait. I’m home from work today! I didn’t even mean to plan it this way; usually I’m off on Fridays, but seeing’s how we have this real important meeting this coming Friday (yawn), I made arrangements a few weeks ago to take today off instead. Rarely, if ever, do things work out for me like this. But since it usually takes a month or so for me to get used to the frigging time change, one day really doesn’t mean shit anyway.
    I saw GWAR in concert once. It was not boring.

    Accidentally smart is still smart.

    Still haven’t seen GWAR. Sometimes life is amusing. Lived in Charlottesville, never saw Dave Matthews; lived in Richmond, never saw GWAR or Lamb of God (back when they were still Burn the Priest); there’s an analog for the town I lived in in the Midwest, too. I’ll correct a few of those before I die. (Maybe LoG this spring!)

  2. GWAR would have been the no-brainer for me. 🙂

    You couldn’t go wrong with any of them, but I’m already outed as a serious Opeth fanboy, and the Swedes only cross the pond every so often…

  3. Still haven’t seen Dave Matthews. I have no idea why, since I love him with an obsessive unhealthy love.

    I like his songwriting. His voice…takes some getting used to.

  4. Well, I WAS going to take a nap, but now…

    \m/

    Sorry and woohoo!

Leave a Reply

