Monday Music

As an outgrowth of ye olde Sunny Mix disc, Laura and I spent part of Thursday trading short rapid-fire emails in a “We should just IM and get it over with” sort of way and I ended up blabbing about one of my favorite semi-obscure artists, Devin Townsend, whose tune “Sunset” is on the Sunny Mix.

I had barely heard of Dev or his main project, Strapping Young Lad, before I saw the Devin Townsend Band open for Opeth a few years ago.  Devin introduced the band and said “We don’t mind if you close your eyes and think of another band; we’ll be up here for about half an hour so we hope you enjoy it.”  Just that one funny line made me like the guy, but then he proceeded to wow the hell out of me with his guitar playing, his songs, and his vocals.  And yes, his weird-ass sense of humor.  What can I say, I can relate.

Strapping Young Lad usually plays very intense, very fast, and extremely heavy metal.  I like it…sometimes, and in usually small doses.  Devin’s solo work (and that with his self-named band) is a little less aggressive and a bit more prog-rock-ish, and I generally think it’s awesome.

If you read the Wikipedia entry on Dev, you’ll see that he’s one strange puppy.  But I personally think he’s something of a tortured genius.  The physical resemblance to myself (if I grew my hair out again) has nothing to do with it.

Here’s one of Dev’s best, from an album I don’t own…yet.

Devin Townsend, “Truth”

If you’re not a fan of Dev’s patented deeply layered “wall of sound” stuff (I am, and then some, but others *cough Dys* are not), here’s a clip of him playing the main riffs all by himself.  Gorgeous stuff.

2 Responses

  1. He is extremely talented.

    It’s something I could probably only handle in small doses, but there is no denying the guy is fantastic at what he does.

    I have a Steve Vai cd that he played and sang on. The concept of the band he put together for it was awesome, but I think Vai is way too used to being the only prodigy in the band.

    He said he loves Vai but by touring with Vai he was becoming an instrument of someone else’s creativity, and he didn’t want to do that. Which his bandmates do every day in HIS band… heh.

    I can’t listen to it everyday either, but there are days when it’s perfect.

  2. :: LOVE ::

    \m/ 😀

Leave a Reply

