Couples Meme

I’m tied up for most of the day (insert bondage joke here) so I figured I’d take this opportunity to schedule a little funny meme.  Unabashedly stolen from Laura and also completed by Kim (in Laura’s comments) and Crisitunity

***

What are your middle names?

They rhyme with “nice” and “rain.”

How long have you been together?

Thirteen years and counting.

How long did you know each other before you started dating?

Technically our first date was our first meeting (and, uh, other firsts).  But if you allow for “knowing each other” before we met face-to-face, the answer is about three years, off and on.

Who asked whom out?

Hell, I’m not sure we ever had an “asking out” moment.  But to get to the spirit of the question, Dys is the one who ran me down, broke my spirit, clubbed me over the head, and dragged me back to her cave by the hair.  It’s all her fault.

How old are each of you?

At the moment, we’re both 35.  She’s six months older.

Whose siblings do you see the most?

Since Dys has no siblings, mine.

Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?

Fighting the battles on behalf of our son.  I think most special-needs parents would say so.  Money is another big one, but I think that’s universal, isn’t it?  (If it’s not a problem for you, don’t tell me about it.)

Did you go to the same school?

Not quite.  1200 miles apart, actually.

Are you from the same home town?

Nope.  I’m a native Southerner, she was born in California to Midwestern parents and spent almost all her life in the Midwest.

Who is smarter?

Toss-up.  I’m usually the focused and logical one and she’s the creative one, although those roles can be juggled in special circumstances.  I’ve got more letters behind my name but I’ve always regarded her as my intellectual equal.  And ever since that time she sat in on one of my graduate classes, my classmates have understood why.

Who is the most sensitive?

In almost all cases, she is.  I have a few soft spots, and she’s completely inured to medical stuff that would send me running for Kleenex or a barf bag (reading about pediatric autopsies would kill me; she can deal) but as for who’s more likely to cry at the drop of a hat, the answer is definitely her.

Where do you eat out most as a couple?

Lately, our local Outback Steakhouse.  It’s closest to home.  If you counted them all up, I think our most frequented place is still a little Irish pub in Richmond called O’Toole’s.  We miss that place.

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?

We made the trip from her folks’ house to my folks’ house several times, which is about 1200 miles give or take a few.  That’s about it so far.

Who has the craziest exes?

Dys.  Definitely.  She’s more likely to have the edge in any event because of my rather pathetic dating history (I can count all of my real relationships on one hand)…but numbers aside, she still wins.  None of my exes hang themselves from hooks…and he’s one of the better ones.

Who has the worst temper?

Neither of us has a particularly horrid temper.  Dys is prone to small outbursts from time to time, but nothing really significant.  Me, I nourish a rather significant fear of my own anger.  I vent through music quite a bit, and otherwise just keep a tight lid on my anger, so I rarely have outbursts at all.  But when I do, it’s a little scary.

Who does the cooking?

She does almost all of the actual “cooking,” but if you say “meal preparation” and include things like sandwiches, cereal, pancakes, muffins, microwave dinners, etc. then I probably do 55-60% of it.

Who is the neat-freak?

Dys has ADD.  I win by default.

Who is more stubborn?

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH.  Sorry.  Me.  Someone once told me I was such a contrary sumbitch that if I drowned I’d float upstream.  And that was my best friend.

Who hogs the bed?

She does.  Ignore her denials.

Who wakes up earlier?

Again, HAHAHAHAHAHAH.  Me.

Where was your first date?

I think the first time we left my apartment was when I took her to Charlottesville to give her a tour of the UVA campus.  Stupidly, I agreed to meet my ex there so she could give me one last birthday card (it came free with a guilt trip).  But the day was definitely salvaged by buying the Sade greatest hits disc on the way home.  Bow-chicka-wow-wow.

Who is more jealous?

Probably me.

How long did it take to get serious?

Less than a month…a year before we met.

Who eats more?

Dys probably eats more frequently, while I eat more at a sitting.  It probably evens out, or if not, the scale is tipped slightly in my favor.

Who does the laundry?

Me.

Who’s better with the computer?

Usually Dys.

Who drives when you are together?

Me.  I almost always enjoy driving.  Dys + long drive = sleep + sleep + sleep.

11 Responses

  1. I never get tired of reading these things.

    Honestly, me either. I was a huge survey junkie back when I was bad into my Myspace habit. They’re goofy but they’re fun and you can learn quirky little things about people that would never come out in an average conversation.

    (It was all the middle school “Do you like someone?” stuff that pissed me off.)

  2. “…I was such a contrary sumbitch that if I drowned I’d float upstream.”

    BWAAAHAHAHAHAHAAA. I’m totally using that.

    To apply to someone BESIDES me?

  3. […] Stolen from Laura, counterpart to TB’s version. […]

  4. Uh, no, peds autopsies tear me up too -yikes! General autopsies I can handle. TB can’t even watch Dirty Jobs anymore though; he gets totally grossed out! 😉

    I used to love that show, but they put it on right in early afternoon on the weekends. Watching the whole “express the dog’s anal glands” while eating Sunday lunch was the last straw.

  5. I’m not in a relationship. So, I will use my most recent one.

    What are your middle names?

    Not to be disclosed.

    How long have you been together?

    We were together for three months and we’re still friends. I prefer friends, actually. Takes the pressure off.

    How long did you know each other before you started dating?

    A couple of weeks.

    Who asked whom out?

    Technically, I did. I said, “We should hang out.”

    How old are each of you?

    I’m 25, he’s 24.

    Whose siblings do you see the most?

    Mine, I live with my sister. His brother lives out of state.

    Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?

    Not wanting the same things.

    Did you go to the same school?

    Uh, no.

    Are you from the same home town?

    Nope.

    Who is smarter?

    It’s equal and complimentary.

    Who is the most sensitive?

    I am. Although I have seen him cry a couple of times.

    Where do you eat out most as a couple?

    A Mexican place called The Salty Iguana.

    Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?

    Illinois.

    Who has the craziest exes?

    Me, hands down. None of his exes tried to kill him. Yes, I managed to restrain myself.

    Who has the worst temper?

    I do, but it burns out quickly.

    Who does the cooking?

    Neither of us, we went out to eat a lot.

    Who is the neat-freak?

    He’s cleaner than I am.

    Who is more stubborn?

    I don’t know. Him, probably. Which is really hard to do, because I’m pretty fucking stubborn.

    Who hogs the bed?

    His cat.

    Who wakes up earlier?

    Him.

    Where was your first date?

    Started out at a bar. Ended at his house. I’m such a slut.

    Who is more jealous?

    Me.

    How long did it take to get serious?

    Not long at all.

    Who eats more?

    I have no idea.

    Who does the laundry?

    I do my laundry, he does his.

    Who’s better with the computer?

    Him.

    Who drives when you are together?

    He always drove. It was irritating because I wanted to drive too.

    I can’t call you a slut when I picked Dys up at the airport and we didn’t even stop off for drinks or anything on the way back to my place. 😉

    Thanks for playing!

  6. Okay, are ya’ll done with these now? 😉

    After seeing’s Laura’s from today, uh, not quite. 😀

  7. TB – Yes, actually, to Calvin.

    Heh heh heh. And you’re still sure you want to put Calvin and I in a room? Together?

  8. “couples” meme?!??!! Pfft…ya, why don’t you and all the other couples have a big ol’ laugh over your special memes!?!?! GRRR….

    😉

    Understood, Romi, I apologize for poking you in a sensitive spot and happily refer you over to Vix’s post on “Happy National Singles Awareness Month.” 😀

  9. Thank you so much for that link! I feel much better, and now our grudge has been resolved 😉

    It’s a good thing we averted that whole international blog warfare thing we were headed toward… 😀

  10. I’m with Kim. I like this glimpes into the romantic lives of others. I’m with your wife on the lulling effects of a long drive.

    I’ve never been much of a car sleeper, I guess.

  11. […] Fun Stuff, War Between the Sexes   Dys and I agreed that after doing Laura’s first couples meme, we’d also try her second one:  How well do you know your […]

Leave a Reply

