More than OOF

OOF is okay. OOF I can handle.  (And it’s a good thing, because I can haz oof!)

It’s that whole “hmm, maybe I need to sit down for a minute” feeling that ain’t so good.

Yeah, I overdid it a little bit.  Overdoing it on the bench is one thing.  Overdoing it on deadlifts is quite another.  On a good day, deadlifts take a lot out of you.  On a bad day, for example if (hypothetically) you’re angry at yourself for sucking and because the scale you used to go by read about 10 pounds higher than you’d even expected and you’re pushing yourself way too hard, then you end up feeling light-headed enough to end your workout a little early.

Good thing I wasn’t expecting too much sympathy when I got home, because Dys and I got into a little tiff over it, with her arguing that one would (hypothetically) be an idiotic asshole for going straight into lifting weights without starting off with cardio and working one’s way back into it, and me arguing that (hypothetically) it wasn’t so much the plan but the execution thereof that was the work of an idiotic asshole.

We ended up having to agree to disagree.

Anyway, I’m sore, but not as sore as I could have been.  About the only thing that really hurts is the long head of my triceps (that is, the area covered by your palm if you put it just above your elbow).  Which is amusing, since I didn’t work tri’s directly, that’s all from the bench.  But they’re sore enough that they woke me up a couple of times during the night if I tried to fully flex or fully extend my arms.  Made shaving my head an adventure this morning, as I expected.

So the bad news is that I’m heavier than I thought and farther out of shouting distance of shape than I thought.  The good news is that my determination and will are still there in spades.  The bad news is that yesterday those two things overrode my common sense.  The good news is that I think I learned a lesson from that.

Now somebody pass me the ibuprofen.

8 Responses

  1. I’m sore and tired just reading that.

    If you can still scratch the top of your head without wincing, you’re doing better than me.

  2. The Frogurt is also cursed.

    The wha? huh? Me confusededed. I’m assuming that the cruising altitude for today’s joke is juuuuuuust over my head.

  3. Wait for it… wait for it…

    “Walk it off!” 😀

    Or swing-my-arms it off?

  4. This was the post I expected today…I felt it coming. The trick when starting over, as you know, is setting up the routine and schedule…This last time I started running, I did it much better by not piling up long runs at a fast pace and it did work out better for me. Now I am running, biking and have even incorporated upper body into my workout…something Mrs. MTAE recently noticed… 😉

    Well, I expected a lot of soreness but not THAT. Clearly I need to dial my expectations of myself down by about half.

  5. For the record, I am not the coiner of the term “idiotic asshole.” 😛

    Do you debate the application of said phrase in terms of our argument?

    I thought not. 😉

  6. It was a Simpsons reference. You said “the bad news is…the good news is…” a few times in that last paragraph, and I was reminded of that Halloween special where the old guy in the evil magic shop tells Homer good stuff and bad stuff and prompts Homer to say “That’s bad. That’s good!” about 10 times. One of the things the old guy says is “the Frogurt is also cursed.”

    AH! Now I remember that one. Heh. I can hear the old guy’s voice right now.

  7. […] sweet teeth.  I’ve got a familial history of diabetes, possibly related to the above.  And I’ve proven that I can occasionally let my willpower overcome my common sense. […]

  8. […] on the scale back in February made me so mad that I channeled my self-loathing into a TOO-hard too-soon workout that just about led to me passing out in the weight and/or locker room.  The number […]

Leave a Reply

