Monday Music

I’ve been holding back on announcing the release of the Sunny Mix cds.  After a long review period I ended up with more songs to remove than to add to the list.  So after a bit of thinking about what to do, I made a last-minute decision to make an additional purchase or two, and boy I’m glad I did.

Sneak peek – now this will be added to the list.

Social Distortion, “Ball and Chain”

[I hate disabled embedding, and I couldn’t find a live version I was terribly happy with.  Oh well.]

Seriously, I may try to convince my brother to have his bluegrass band play this tune.  I think it would be teh awesum.

5 Responses

  1. Aaahhh Mike Ness! Love love love Social D.

    I’m ashamed to say I didn’t own any until Friday. I was getting used to “Story of My Life” on Guitar Hero, and “I Was Wrong” on Rock Band, and said “This is stupid, I should order these discs and put those songs on the Sunny Mix.”

    Then I was listening to the track previews and it was like I remembered whole parts of the 90s that I’d forgotten. “Oh so THAT’S who did that cover of ‘Ring of Fire!’ And they did THAT song too? Hell, I love that tune!”

  2. You know, I’m somewhat saddened when I hear that. I guess what counts the most is that people get exposed to the music at all but…I dunno. 😦

    It’s the equivalent of my music instructor getting irritated with us because we recognized classic pieces of music and opera from commercials and cartoons.

    I heard a dj on the radio go completely off around Christmas about his distaste for Rock Band and Guitar Hero and what’s the other one? Wii Music? Understandably, he was far more irritated than I ever would be because he’s a musician and music teacher in addition to being a radio personality.

    He cracked me up when he said he was going to refuse further instruction to the next kid that told him “This song is a lot easier to play on Guitar Hero”. Hahaha!

    I think the RB/Guitar Hero craze is, overall, good for music. It brings a connection to the music that’s somewhere between listening to it and actually (fo’ realz) playing it, and I have to believe that that connection actually becomes a bridge between the two for some that might otherwise not have found one.

    Aside from that, I’ve found it’s pretty cool for isolating parts of a song. If you’re playing bass, the bass track is a little louder than the rest. I’ve noticed nuances in some separate parts that way that I might never have picked up without that help.

    Ultimately though it’s just a different way to make music fun. I play RB pretty often, but it’s still no substitute for picking up the guitar and actually playing it, and I mean that from a visceral point rather than a technical one.

  3. I’ve never heard of them. I saw the name and I was expecting some screaming industrial metal type music, but I was surprised. Not bad.

    This song in particular is sometimes described as “cowpunk.” Pretty accurate, I’d say.

  4. Their Greatest Hits CD is a nice introduction to them…ITunes is always cool and I would recommend.

    Dont Take me for Granted and Story of My Life to go along with Ball and Chain…after those three you should be hooked..

    I saw the Greatest Hits thing but also saw that many of their classics were re-recorded for that collection, and I’m a bit of a purist for that sort of thing. I can’t TELL you how pissed off I was to find out that my CD copy of “Blizzard of Ozz” had the bass and drum parts re-recorded. Damn Sharon.

  5. I just checked my IPod…Ring of Fire is cool too. Those the four that are in my rotation regularly…

    I’m definitely also digging on “Down Here (With the Rest of Us).”

Leave a Reply

