Monday Music

Blah.

There, I said it.

I’m pretty damned grumpy this morning.  I had a pretty blah day yesterday, and it never helps to have a crappy lead-in to a Monday, does it?  Factor that in with the fact that I’m not one who’s really prone to insomnia (as many of you seem to be – hell, insomnia could probably be nicknamed Blogger’s Syndrome), but last night I woke up at about 2:30 and didn’t get back to sleep until almost 4:30.  And my alarm goes off at 5:30.  Joy.

Wrap that in a big pile of “it’s getting harder to gear up for work when I want to be doing something else” and sheesh, I was one pissy old bear when I woke up this morning.  I was prepared to come in and throw up a venting tune for MM (read:  something no more than 2 of you would voluntarily listen to) but listening to my “Sunny Mix” (which I’ll soon announce is ready for distribution!  Woo!) on the way in this morning actually helped…so I’ll save that particular venting tune for another day.

Instead, I’ll give a nod to the mild snowstorm we’re expecting over the next day or so, and go with a song that will probably always remind me of last year.

Red Hot Chili Peppers, “Snow (Hey Oh)”

(This is the live version from Live at Abbey Road – pretty cool!)

3 Responses

  1. Sorry you’re feeling poopy, but I feel ya; I was up from about 2:30 until almost 4. It doesn’t make for a happy-go-lucky day, especially on a Monday. I’m going to invent a special Sunday Night Insomnia Solution that will be ten times stronger than Ambien or any of the other weak-ass sleeping pills on the market – maybe a phenobarbitol dart to the neck?
    For what it’s worth, that’s a really cool song and I’d never heard it until now, so thank you!

    Glad you liked the song!

    I dunno, generally I think booze and/or sex would work like a charm, but they’d each make it harder to leave the bed in the morning. For different reasons, of course. At least if you’re doing it right.

  2. I have a blah today, too. Not that the weekend was bad, but I’m in full-blown pout that I have to work AT work today, instead of working from home. The upside is that I get to work from home on Friday, and then again the following Monday, so it’s kind of like a long weekend. Still, I pout. I’m good at it, so why not.

    I love dem Peppers!

    I’m just gonna keep my head down and try to get through the day!

    I am definitely doing better than first thing this morning, thankfully. Now let’s just hope I don’t end up with qwertyitis before quittin’ time.

  3. It can be hard to push yourself through the grind of work if you are already planning your escape. It is a real tricky time for you…tyr to focus on smaller things and not the big picture.

    Easy to say.

    Hmm. Good advice. One small tick mark at a time…

Leave a Reply

