Happy New Year

Well, we made it home a few hours ago.  Although if the weather report had included the word “white-out” anywhere around when I checked it, we might have chosen to stay one more day.  Dys thought to grab the camera and snap a few photos through the windshield after, it turned out, we’d gotten through the worst of it.  Oh well.  That was an interesting fifteen minutes in the mountains, I must say…but otherwise, windy but uneventful. 

Anyway, we’re back, and I have the time (and for a short while, at least, the sobriety) to sit down and type my new year’s message to you folks – which is that I hope you all find something you’re searching for in the coming year – and I hope that something finds you, giving you a pleasant surprise.

(Note I said pleasant; psycho exes don’t count.)

Last year I took a little time for the new year to thank the handful of people who regularly stopped by to say hello – this year I think I’m lucky enough to say I could never adequately do that for all of you!  So I’ll just say thanks for coming by and listening to what I have to say – thanks for saying what you’re saying in your own spaces – and I’m looking forward to another year of us all getting to know each other. 

9 has always been my lucky number…

Happy new year to y’all!

6 Responses

  1. I’m thankful to have found all you guys out there in cyberland this year. It’s been a really amazing experience.
    I left a comment on Snerkology saying I’ve always had good years when they end in 9.
    1969 – I was born.
    1979 – I saw Grease and thought no movie would ever top it. Ever. Ditto the soundtrack.
    1989 – I spent the summer in upstate NY working and playing at a bar with my favorite cousins.
    1999 – I got married. And we still like each other after all this time, which I’m finding to be rare among the people we know.
    I have high hopes for this year.

    Excellent! I hope this year bears out the trend for you.

  2. Happy New Year! Glad you all made it home safe and sound!

    Safe yes; “Sound” probably depends upon your definition, eh? 😉

  3. Welcome home! 🙂

    Is it wrong that my mind immediately went to the opening riff of the Coheed & Cambria song?

    Probably.

  4. I was shoveling in white-out conditions so couldn’t imagine driving through it on a mountain. But you’ve always been kind of an adrenaline junkie, eh TB?

    Happy New Year! Keep up the pace.

    See ya,
    Chris

    Not that kinda adrenaline junkie! A car loaded heavy and full of my family on a snowy interstate is pretty near a personal hell. But it was only for a few minutes, so bah.

    Happy new year, man!

  5. Glad you’re back safe and sound and had a good holiday. Happy New Year.

    Happy new year to you as well!

  6. Aww…how sweet, hope the New Year is treating you right so far, and indeed, my bloggy vacation ends today, so time to get back to it! 😉

    My blog vacation ends today, so back to it it is!

Leave a Reply

