Monday Music

If you wanna know what my holiday will be like, last year’s blog will probably be the closest approximation.  I’m sure I’ll have lots more to add when I get back, but that should whet your appetite just a tad.

In the meantime, it IS Monday Music time after all, and who am I to let a tradition slip, especially during the tradition-laden holidays?

This is one of many songs that will be played around my parents’ living room during the now-traditional family bluegrass jam on Christmas morning.

Earl Scruggs & friends, “Foggy Mountain Breakdown”

(Good thing I’ve been practicing!)

Hope you all have a warm and wonderful holiday!

4 Responses

  1. That was great!! I need something to motivate me today! And they look so happy too! 😀

    If all works out according to plan, we’ll look that happy on Christmas morning ourselves.

  2. I can’t move ANY part of my body as fast as that banjo guy was pluckin’ along. Yeesh!

    SO many jokes, so little time!!

    Seriously, that is Earl Scruggs, probably the most famousest banjo picker ever, so don’t feel so bad.

  3. Awww!!! How cool is Steve Martin!! Yeah, yeah, yeah all those country gusy are good too, but it’s just cooler seeing a comedian up there kicking ass. 😉

    All those years of working a banjo into his act seem to have caught on, huh?

  4. There is a Bluegrass channel on Sirius and we turn it on on Sunday mornings. My FIL, when he was alive, would play Bill Monroe songs on his banjo on Sundays when we visited them. My wife likes to have that on Sundays now that he is no longer around.

    That’s kinda sweet of your wife. I found a little backwoods radio station online some time a while back – I’ll have to find it and link it up. It’s from someplace way up in the hills where KY/VA/WV come together, I think.

Leave a Reply

