The Elf Co-Driver and Me

The last few days with my son have been a lot of fun.  Not just because he got out of school on a technicality yesterday and therefore was a little less grumpy and a little more ebullient about life, but for a whole host of reasons.  Partially due to the ol’ holiday spirit, and partially because he’s, well, him.

Last night we went shopping for a Christmas present from him to Dys.  (Not with his money, of course…)  And as is typical for my son, we looked at quite a few things and his solution was not to pick one, but to get them all.  Well, of course…he’s 9, and this is how he wishes somebody would shop for him, you’d best believe it.  But also because he just thinks that it’s Christmas and when you see something someone would like, you should chuck it in the cart because that’s the best way to be.

Luckily, I walked past the big-screen TV’s and said “Mom would probably like one of those, too” and he said “No.  That would be too expensive.”

Good boy.

More amusing to me at least was the trip back last night, and the trip out to meet his ride to school this morning.

My son (and I, I’ll admit) played a ton of Rallisport Challenge 2 on the old Xbox.  So much so that we wore out the old disc and it wouldn’t work anymore.  Dys suggested that while I was looking at used games on the day after Thanksgiving, I see if I could find another copy of it…and I did.  I promptly checked to see if it worked, and it did (on our secondary Xbox but not the primary – long story).  I then cleverly hid the box…leaving the disc in the Xbox.

D’oh!

Anyway, so he found it and we let him play.  No big deal.  He’s been having a ball, and has been more interested in actually progressing through the career than he ever was just a few years ago, when he just wanted to drive the same car on the same track over and over and over and over…which is an encouraging sign that he’s really learning to adapt and overcome some of his more obsessive AS behaviors.

The hysterical part came last night when he spontaneously started imitating the co-driver of the video game and calling out pacenotes, narrating my upcoming path from the store back to the house.  Have YOU ever run an errand with a co-driver like that?

“Long easy right.”
“Medium left, over crest.”
“Into straight.  Caution:  Bump.”  (This in the parking lot of the local K-Mart, which has speed bumps.)
“Square right, don’t cut.  Or you’ll end up in the gas station.”  (The game co-driver never says THAT!)

If you’ve never done it, I highly recommend it.  You may never look at your trip to the grocery store the same way.  Especially when you pull into the garage to the cheery sound of “…over finish!”

6 Responses

  1. That’s a great story! It’s always lovely to spend some quality time with the kids! I can’t WAIT for my Christmas holidays!

    Me either…I’m off after Friday for two weeks!

  2. PS WHY won’t my avatar work any more!!!! AHHHH!

    I think MTAE is right – I think it’s the email change. That or you’re commenting when you’re not logged into WordPress.

  3. This is one of the many reasons I’d love to be a parent. Kids are freaking awesome.

    They can be, that’s for sure. They can also be little stinkers.

    Both of the above qualify for at least honorable mention, understatement of the year.

  4. My son is at that fun aeg where we can have fun together…it is great. Like I get a new pal!

    Susy: Preferences get messed up when you change stuff…like you email address…I am trying to switch my Avatar and it bounces back and forth between the lighting bolt and my drawing…weird!

    He is definitely becoming more fun to be around as he grows older.

    On the other hand, I’m guessing I have maybe four more years max before that trend reverses for about 5-7 years.

  5. Your son has such a cool sense of humor. Such a little wiseguy! Hmm… wonder who he takes after!

    Not me. If it was me, he’d spend all his time torturing everyone around him. My idea of a good time was warped by my uncle Ronnie when I was a kid. The typical evening in my household consists of several 20-minute sessions like this:

    “What’s for dinner, Dad?”
    [dead serious] “Tummies.”
    “NO. I don’t eat tummies!”
    “Why not? That’s what I’m having.”
    “NO WAY. You can’t get my tummy.”
    “Well, eat the dog then.”
    “NO!”
    “Well, let her eat you.”
    “NO!!!”

    You get the picture.

    I’m awful. And it’s a hell of a lot of fun. 😀

  6. I know the location of every inflatable Santa in town now thanks to my little back-seat from a booster seat driver.

    That is ridiculously cute.

Leave a Reply

