Monday Music

Ye gods.  December 1st.  Surely it’s supposed to be October 1st at the latest, right?  Where in the hell did my year go?

Nope.  It’s December all right.  I know, because my son this morning said “It’s December 1st, so I’m going to rock out with my Christmas stuff.”  Thereby throwing my wife and I into spontaneous LOLdom.  But he did it.  He’s going to school wearing a little necklace of tiny plastic Christmas lights that Dys made for him a few years ago.  And good for him.

Otherwise, bah.  It’s a cold grey day that may show a little snow, but mostly looks like cold wet rain.  That’s the stuff I hate the most…give me 15 degrees and snow anyday over 35 and rain.  It sucks.

I’ve been listening to a lot of 70s stuff recently – Eagles, Zeppelin, etc. – and this morning a lot of potential MM’s came through the ol’ stereo.  One of which that I dearly love, I thought “Hmm.  I think I’ve already done that one.”  And yep, I had – and did a very good job describing it if I do say so myself.  Damn I love that song.

One was a good one, but not fitting for the mood of the dreary day.  I’ll probably save that for springtime.

But there was one more which still fit nicely.  I hate disabled embedding, though.  Oh well.

The Allman Brothers Band, “Melissa”

Click here for the video.  It’s a nice acoustic version.

Amusingly, I dated a girl named Melissa in high school but never really connected this song with her.  I wasn’t much into the old 70s groups back then, I guess.  So I don’t have any memories of this song that are attached to any one person…it just evokes the loneliness of a wandering traveler.  Beautiful nonetheless.

3 Responses

  1. I got the snow and I’d rather have the rain. I don’t have to shovel rain or brush it off my truck whilst freezing my ass off in the wind. It’s 29 here today. It’s not even winter yet! Ah well, I moved back here on purpose so I grin and bear it. 🙂

    YAY! I love The Allman Brothers! I didn’t like when this song was used in a commercial (but I never like when they use classic songs in them).

    Your point about not having to shovel rain is well taken. I should keep that in mind next time.

  2. I’d love to see that necklace.

    I’ll see what I can do!

  3. I want to see the necklace too! 😀

    It’s bloody cold here too, we might get some snow later in the week. I will believe it when I see it- it always hits the east coast of England (about 300 miles away) and never makes it this far.

    I meant to update Crisitunity – I got a pic of the necklace last night but haven’t gotten it uploaded yet. More to come!

    We don’t get a lot of snow here – it IS the South, after all – but we normally get a couple of inches a year, with the occasional freak storm of 5 inches plus.

    I think snow is pretty and fun to play in….in small doses. That one winter in the Midwest when there was snow covering the ground for over 100 days just about drove me batty.

Leave a Reply

